Stop Apologizing For Who You Are

in #blog6 years ago

stop apologizing for who you are.jpg

A lot of people in the world do not like different. There is something comforting about coming into contact with someone that is very similar and has all the same ideals. However, as I’ve said time and time again, God DID NOT MAKE US TO BE COPIES OF EACH OTHER.
.
What would even be the point of having everyone be the same? I mean, some things would get accomplished because we would all be on the same page, but I don’t think very many new things would happen. With everyone being the same and no one straying from the pack, I’m pretty there wouldn’t be very many new developments or drastic change, which the world often needs.
.
The world needs different people, so stop apologizing for being different. Stop apologizing for being who you are, because God made you that way, therefore, no apology needed.
.
This has been a current reminder or mantra, if you will, for me as of late. As some of you know, this has been my year to let go of all the expectations I piled on myself and release as much people pleasing behaviors as possible. I’m trying to let all that junk go and just be the person I was created to be. Sometimes that’s hard because I have set an expectation of being one person and now I kind of am another. But, that isn’t a reason for someone to no longer accept you. It’s just hard for some people to adapt to change. I’ve noticed that over time, the people I care about most have adapted, and that is really all that should matter.
.
If people are giving you crap about who you are, then you have to decide if it’s worth it to take because you believe they will come around after a while or you need to cut them loose. Not everyone will like who you are and that’s ok. We aren’t here to please everyone. You need to be you and they can be them.
.
Don’t apologize for who you are because it’s useless. You start doing that, you are regressing from your true self and pretending to be the person you think they want, hence no longer be the real you. It’s not worth your time, they will get over it or get gone, and you will be so much happier living for yourself and not someone else.
.
Have an amazing day and stay true to you. Make sure those around you are, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71