Your Depression Doesn't Have to Control You

in #blog6 years ago

YOUR DEPRESSION DOESN'T HAVE TO CONTROL YOU.jpg

I’ve experience depression before, as a lot of us have. It’s rough. It’s not fun or glamorous and even bareable a lot of the time. It can sometimes feel like you are literally walking through Hell and can’t find a way out.
.
But, based on my experience & others, this is not a place you are forced to stay. You don’t have to let your depression hold you down and control every aspect of your life.
.
You may not know it, but you have the power inside of you to push through the haze & fog in your mind of the sadness & overwhelmingly terrible feelings you are experiencing during your depression. It may not seem that way, but you can. It may take small, baby-like steps to get to the point where you can function at a minimum level, but you’re still progressing to your goal off being depression free.
.
I say this all the time, it’s good to experience your emotions & work through these, but you don’t need to wallow in them for forever. There comes a time where picking yourself up again is the best choice so you can move forward. You have the strength inside you to accomplish this, I KNOW you do. I believe you do.
.
If you are truly having trouble, you need to find someone that can help you. Whether this is a friend, family member, partner or counselor, it just depends on what you feel would be most helpful.
.
Sometimes it’s just a spark of hope that you need to feel alive again and wake up a bit. Like I said, I have been here, & what worked for me was prayer & seeing a counselor. I would talk to people around me & that was alright, but I needed someone to tell me the hard truth about what I was thinking & saying to wake me up from the darkness I was lost in.
.
I wish I could talk more about this, but I just want you to know that if you are suffering from depression, there is a way out & it DOES NOT have to control you forever.
.
Enjoy your day & think positive enough that you forget your own problems.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71