Trypophobia- do you have it?

in #blog7 years ago

IMG_1011.JPG

If these images upset you, take comfort in knowing that I am itching like a madwoman after trying to compose this disgusting post! Some of us have what is called Trypophobia, the fear or revulsion at the sight of irregular holes in nature or in art. I remember my brother saying something one time about what if you peeled back your skin and it looked like a corn on the cob (I come from a family of weirdos). It really freaked me out on a strange level I couldn't understand and it wasn't even the skin peeling part that grossed me out. Then about eight months ago someone on a blog site posted a pic of shoes with stacks of teeth for soles. It really freaked me out! Someone commented that it triggered their Trypophobia, and alas! I had a word for that feeling I get when I see barnacles coving an animal's shell.
IMG_1013.JPG
The lotus pod seems to be the most common cause of upset for many trypophobes. It doesn't stir me up much, but hey, we all have our own fears.IMG_1015.JPG
So, what about you? Do these images cause you some form of distress? Have you ever heard of Mango worms in dogs? Don't watch the YouTube videos. Let me know what sets you to irrationally itching or squeamishness. I'll be here itching (literally!) to know.![IMG_1014.JPG]
()
(All photos are from Pixabay)

Sort:  

I love lotuses but lotus pod IS nauseating to look at. I didn't know this was a thing. This explains a lot.

It was really interesting to me too, to have a word for the weird emotional response I get to certain images.

Bot fly's! Honeycomb foot fungus! Port winers! Oh my! I own a medi-spa and I sometimes see the coolest things!

Bot flies are so gross! Even though this stuff freaks me out, I HAVE to look. The holes the bot fly larva leave are so creepy. Off to google honeycomb foot fungus lol!

Haha Google Nevus Comedonicus! I love looking at that stuff as well then getting the chills lol

Okay I'm game....

Yep, that'll do it 😷

Congratulations @renodakota! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This made me laugh! I definitely don't have trypophobia, but I've got all sorts of other quirks :)

It is a strange little phobia.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75