Gift A Garden

in #blog6 years ago

In A Can!

IMG_20180502_200033.jpg


I received this as a gift for my new apartment about 2 months ago and I have to say that this might be one of the best little gifts for someone. I have never done any real plant growing, but I do like cooking so this is perfect for me. Plus it makes the room smell nice. Generally I find these DIY home grower type things to be really stupid, but this is pretty awesome and here's why:

Ease of storage:

This comes in a sealed aluminum can prepacked with the seeds and soil so you could give this to someone before a move and they don't have to worry about keeping a plant alive while moving.

Ease of Growing

Just pop the top and add water to being. Continue watering as needed. I think there are instructions, but I have never actually checked. The can does not have holes on the bottom, which is nice because who wants mud on their counter right? Because there are no holes, they put some special stuff in the soul to make sure it doesn't over-saturate. It seems to be working well, but don't go dumping too much water in it ok? Just make sure the dirt stays damp to touch and you will be good to go. I won't drown my plant in the name of science, so just act in moderation.

The plant

The plant grows as expected. The soil has enough seeds to make sure you get some healthy growth. I had 4 sprout, but I am down to 3 still living since the 4th got choked out. It's a tough world out there man. Basil is somewhat sensitive from what I have seen and some of my leaves are getting a little brown from the direct sunlight. I would recommend not doing what I have done. Perhaps you could read the instructions, but you won't catch me doing that.

Ease of Gifting

You can either buy single herb cans from the manufacturer, or you can buy a 4 can set for around $20. I just have the basil, but adding dill, mint. and cilantro would be nice. Doesn't this look cool?


Source

Sort:  

It has this stylish look to it as well . So many cans to pick from.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

It's a amazing post, thanks for your simple but nice idea...Go ahead.

Please Stop

In your your last 100 comments you used 78 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 1 times. You've received 1 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 75.60% and Bot: 3.80%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

Notforgetting the beauty too. Along side the crop it looks nice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65848.40
ETH 3007.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73