My Backpack Tank

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


Source


I just wanted to give a quick review of the laptop I am currently using: the Lenovo T460P. This guy has been going strong for years and I wanted to share why I like is as much as I do.

Design

Ok fine it isn't the most sleek thing on the planet, not even by a mile. Think of it as the AK of laptops. It's bulky and somewhat crude, but it just can't be killed. In its blockiness, it actually doesn't look terrible. It has that classic early 2000's IBM thinkpad design, but with modern internals. I expect them to catch on with the hipsters in 2030 or so.

Build Quality

The keyboard is really positive for membrane switches, the trackpad has a nice coating, there is no discernible ware after 2 years of use, and the screen hinges are smooth, but hold their place firmly. I had a previous lenovo with wobbly hinges, and it seems like they sorted that out really well.

Hardware

You can do a "custom" one like I did and choose your own hardware at no additional cost. This is somethink lenovo does a lot of and I like the choices it affords you. As long as you know what you are doing, this is the most cost effective option. There are preset tiers if you don't know much, and that is fine as well. I went for a skylake i5, 4gb of ram, a 500gb HDD, and a 1080p IPS display. For my needs this was more than enough and is somewhat on the low end of what they offer.

Linux Host

The thinkpads have always been great for linux, and this is no exception. Not much to say on this front that hasn't been said, but I have had good luck with a bunch of distros. Try what you like and google before you try. I think this is one of the better.

Sort:  

I had a terrible experience with a Lenovo laptop, and I'm so glad I have MSI now. Fuck that shit, never gonna buy it again.

Lenovo sucks!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98