The Best Pans

in #blog6 years ago


Source: Pixabay


Cast iron pans are the epitome of cookware. They were the only real option from the days of the old west until the space-age. We abandoned the tried and true for the new fangled materials and fancy coating only to realize what we lost. Now, people are returning to cast iron in droves.

Durability

A cast iron pan is a beefy item. While it won't block a bullet like recent hit video games would tell you, our family has a pan made in the 1910's and I am positive it will outlive us all. A well made and well kept cast iron skillet is like a Honda Civic, it will never die.

Non-stick

We don't need any fancy bullsh*it coatings to get a nonstick pan. You can season a cast iron pan (baking on layers of oil) and that layer will build with use. Water simply beads off of it and if it is treated with the respect it deserves, you will be able to see your reflection in the bottom.

Cooking potential

This thing has a lot of mass, and that mass can get very hot. The benefit here is that if you put cold meat on it, it won't cool the pan down nearly as much as if you were using a modern wimpy pan.

Aesthetic

d72b3716379fba16496e1bce76cf162c.jpg
Source: Pinterest

Need I say more?

Sort:  

You explained enough, I think. Your suggestion is always helpful for us.

Wooow🤙🤙😍😍

Very Very Good kooking I Like Via @reviewsatrandom

thanks ~~~

Loading...

I've been considering getting cast iron pans for quite some time. This post now really makes me want to grab a set. Any idea of a place to get some that would be of a decent quality, but not incredibly painful on the wallet?

Very good explanation, I need one of those in my kitchen, and I love pinterest

YES! So glad to see another cast-iron enthusiast! I cook with nothing but cast iron! Nothing can compare! Its the bees knees!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50