Blog 04 | Getting in touch with an old passion of mine

in #blog6 years ago

Something I share with my Lola is the passion for sewing. Growing up, I watched her use the mechanical sewing machine that she had since she was young. I even removed almost all of its screws (I got a beating from that one LOL). But up to this day, it amazes me that from a scrap of left over fabric from an old project of hers, she could make me a dress for a recital, or a Sunday dress or a curtain or anything she wanted. I wanted to be like her!

But I got busy with my studies. I never had the opportunity to pursue this passion. Until the day I decided that I want to cosplay! I can create clothes that I see from the characters that I adore so much. Even if I dont have the tools like sewing machine, I am still determined to create costumes.

However my passion fell short to my frustrations. It is so difficult to hem a skirt or a shirt by hand. So I tried using this a handheld sewing machine. I bought it from lazada and costs about Php 500, then my mom bought one from divisoria for Php 100 😭. My review: Don't bother! It is so difficult to maneuver. And if your cloth is too thick, it wouldn't work.

My first ever project was Shiro's outfit from the anime No Game No Life. I failed miserably haha But I learned from my mistakes. I even got advice from my lola where to cut and where to sew. Since that failure, I never touched a needle nor a thread. Recently, I decided on a new project. Umaru-chan's cape!!! Probably in my next post, I will feature my finished cape!!!. I think this project is fairly easy so I am not gonna fail this time 😉


Shiro from No Game No Life

Umaru-chan from Himouto Umaru-chan

Sort:  

So sad that there will be no 2. Season of No Game No Life. I love this anime so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61