Road to Adulthood: Getting an Insurance!

in #blog6 years ago

Ever since I started working, my boss keeps on badgering me to get an insurance, or invest, or do something with what I earn. He says that getting an insurance is a milestone in one's life!

To be honest, I couldn't see the purpose of getting a life insurance. I think there's no point. I don't benefit from it and I just lose money every year. This was my mindset before talking to the agent...

As I said, I wasn't sold. I have no use for this stuff because I have to support my mom and sister and I don't understand it. But then the agent (she was also my professor in college, btw) said to me: "What we want is to prevent a sandwich generation". I was like ??? I had no Idea what sandwich generation was and why we should prevent it.

According to wikipedia,

The Sandwich Generation is a generation of people (usually in their 30s or 40s) who care for their aging parents while supporting their own children.
A study from 2015 shows that 25% of the millenials are now in the face of sandwich generation. This subjects the millenials to stress, financial strain, anxiety and depression. It made a lot of sense why they want to prevent sandwich generation.

Image Source

There are various ways to avoid having sandwich generation problems. And apparently, getting an insurance is one. We need to invest on ourselves. An option for insurance is a Variable life insurance (VUL) in which we can have a life insurance and an investment that we can use when we are old so that we don't depend on our children. We can use this investment if we ever encountered a financial crisis. In addition we can also get a medical insurance that we can tap in when we get sick. There are many options that you can get that works for you.

I am not an agent 😂 but I just want to share what I learned from that meeting to avoid being in the sandwich generation. I commend the agent's persuasion skills. She told us that she just wants to protect the people that she loves by helping them make the right choices.


It's good to be back! I've been really busy but I'm so glad I finally had a chance to post again! 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97