The Universe has gifted me the perfect home & office, complete with horses, greenhouse & dumbbells ๐Ÿด๐ŸŒฑ๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿผ

in #blog โ€ข 5 years ago

IMG_4771_2_3_tonemapped.jpg

I must FEEL good in my home & work space if I am to perform at my best, so it was essential in my mind that I found somewhere suitable for the four month film job I have embarked upon this Summer in the UK. There were only two rooms available within walking distance of the solar construction site, the first of them in the village of Easingwold.

'Dave' looked like a friendly guy and I was excited about meeting him, but it turned out he had already rented the room and forgotten to remove the advert.

My only other option was 'Gary'. His description gave little away and there were no pics to look at. Just a note to say that the location was very isolated and that tenants will need to have a car... which I don't!

I put together this composite so that you may see Gary's place in proximity to my work site.

Screen Shot 20190605 at 01.41.01.png

The 40min walk to Easingwold doesn't bother me. I will find a scenic route which avoids roads. More importantly the hop, skip & a jump from Gary's house to work is about as perfect as it gets!

What this ultimately means is that my bedroom will be my office (as opposed to a shipping container office on site) and when I see a sunny moment on the horizon from my window I can run to the site with my drone and get the shots I am after.

IMG_4765_6_7_tonemapped.jpg

It is time to connect with the horses

A week before moving in I scoped Gary's place out while he was at work and came across this beautiful horse. I have always wanted to learn more about horses so took the time to say hello. She seemed like she wanted to say something and wouldn't take her eyes off me. I took this picture and thought nothing more of it.

newhome8.jpg

The day I moved in Gary told me she had just given birth to a colt that morning.
(A colt is a male horse, as opposed to a female foal)

The colt, currently nameless, was standing and eating within hours of birth. Which is incredible!
newhome4.jpg

Gary told me she gave birth standing up in around 15mins and didn't make a sound.

Are you taking note humans? The animals know best.

newhome2.jpg

The mere (mother) so gentle in her movements to touch and reassure.

newhome7.jpg

There is no such thing as coincidence and these horses are a part of why I am here. I believe it is time for me to learn how to look after them and in time to ride them, so that I may teach my children this valuable skill.

Before cars there were horses.

After cars there will be horses.

The Greenhouse

Last but not least there is a greenhouse! Or at least that's what it used to be.

IMG_4777_8_9_tonemapped.jpg

Okay it could use a little work, but where there is a will there is a way. Back home in France Sabrina is tending to our land, growing all kinds of goodies and I felt like I was missing out on the fun.

IMG_4780_1_2_tonemapped.jpg

Once this lot is clear, I will have a space for my own fun. Yesterday I bought these two varieties of tomato to get me started.

IMG_4786_7_8_tonemapped.jpg

Does anyone have any ideas what else I could grow in here which will be ready for harvest before September?

Time to build my upper body strength?

In cleaning through the greenhouse junk I came across a number of things including an old boot, a milk pail, some hanging baskets and a very rusty dumbbell set.

IMG_4801_2_3_tonemapped.jpg

As I said there is no such thing as coincidence. These dumbbells spoke to me loudly, so I will clean them and put them to good use.

This period ahead of me is about so much more than just making a film for money. I have felt that from the beginning. And in looking always for evidence of how I might best use my situation to evolve myself, I think you can guess what I tend to find.

Love & Light everyone!

gradient banner.png

Who is @samstonehill?

He was a London based filmmaker until he sold everything and set out on a barefoot journey around the world, currently based in the south of France.

He is travelling with his partner & two children and with no bank account he has been living on STEEM & crypto for over a year.

old banner.jpg

All content created for this account is 100% original (unless otherwise stated), produced by @samstonehill who invites you to use & share freely as you wish.

Sam is the creator of:

The Aspiring Steemit Whales & Dolphins group on Facebook which seeks to help newcomers make the transition from Facebook to Steemit, providing them with detailed notes and personal assistance with their posts... resteeming them when he can.

Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 19.44.43.png


Here is a list of Steemit Witness I have voted for & recommend you do the same:
@teamsteem @timcliff @jesta @good-karma @someguy123 @blocktrades @pfunk @klye @krnel @blueorgy @ausbitbank @thecryptodrive @ura-soul @pharesim

Without them our beloved Steemship would not fly.

Learn what this means HERE and place your vote HERE

imageedit_1_5527523249.png

All non original photo sources can be found by clicking on the image

Sort: ย 

Hello dear @samstonehill.

No doubt you have been blessed.
This place is really beautiful.
That experience you had with the birth of the little colt must have been spiritual.
In the elevated image that you showed us you can see a solar farm. Apparently it is quite extensive. This speaks very well of the ecological character of the area. Do you know what the energy generated in that farm is destined for?

Many blessings for your new home.

All best, Piotr.

Knowing that the colt was born moments before I arrived felt like a good omen to me ;)

The elevated image was a composite I put together just to show how it will look in the end and the proximity of the site to my home.

For now it still looks like this:

Google earth map.jpg

The solar you can see is an older project by a different company. All these fields will be full of the most advanced (bi-facial) panels by the end of the summer. If you're interested you can read all the details in this article:

https://www.theengineer.co.uk/warrington-solar-project/

Size: 198 acres
Cost: ยฃ62.34m
Output: 34.7MWp

All the best to you my friend!

Dear @samstonehill

line2.png

I just realized that I never actually thanked you for your reply. I really appreciate that you're so very responsive.

I also wanted to make some suggestion.

My impression is, that the hardest part of attracting attention on STEEMIT is the fact, that our audience have very little chance to actually find our publications. Lack of solid notification system is an obvious issue. And regardless how hard I would try - there is very little chance I would find out about your new interesting publications (my feed is just flooded with to many posts).

Please allow me to share some suggestion with you. If you would ever publish content related to blockchain, crypto, artificial intelligence, psychology etc. then perhaps you could simply send me memo with link to that post.

This way not only I would have a chance to read your publication, but I will also upvote it right away with 20k SP voting power. If I would consider it interesting then I may also share it with wider audience.

Please let me know what do you think.

Cheers, Piotr

I appreciate your thoughts here.

It is however quite rare that I write about these subjects.

From my perspective all of this pales into insignificance in the wake of the coming Grand Solar Minimum which will potentially take us back to the stone age. So I tend to focus on things which I believe will help people to prepare and survive what will be a very testing time for humanity.

Have a great time exploring your current home. It is really adorable. And such a warm welcome! The pictures you took are beautiful and I feel the same. This mere is trying to tell you something! The greenhouse looks so funny. Mine looked similar when I moved in here. Like a lost planet. :) All the best for your project and much pleasure.

There are ten horses here and they are all soooooo friendly. When I go outside for a smoke at night I can hear them saying hi ;)

Such amazing creatures!

And yes, the greenhouse is more like a jungle currently. There is also, I have discovered, a bees nest somewhere deep in the foliage of the greenhouse. I wonder if I will find honey???

Wow! Indeed an adventurous place. Your children will love it. I already do from afar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85