Euphemisms

in #blog5 years ago

When I first learned about "euphemisms," I was fascinated. Everywhere I went, I searched high and low for an applicable euphemism. You can only imagine how tired my family became of hearing phrases like "big boned" and "seen better days." I realized, amidst my over-use of these feeling-friendly phrases, that today's world is filled to capacity with these softened truths. Whether watching mediacasts or reading the newspaper, I noticed the tendency of our society to rely on euphemisms in everyday operations. Ranging from serious topics such as company restructurings to topics as mundane as pre-owned cars, it appears as though we prefer the soft and fluffy version of the truth.

I'll admit - in many circumstances, I love the ability to avoid saying the cold hard truth. Euphemisms provide me with an escape of having to "tell it like it is." Yet, the abundance of euphemisms have truly made me appreciate having a select few people who will tell me the truth no matter how direct the words. Having someone by my side who I can count on to be straight forward prevents me from wondering for days what is really meant by the term "comfort station."

As you visit your potential colleges and universities, avoid saying the simple euphemisms to mask your feelings about a school. Instead, find the truth you are dying to share. My hope is that by searching beneath the soft, fluffy words of "nice" and "pretty," you'll find your key thoughts such as "helpful" and "engaging" in order to better make a decision about your home away from home. On your college tours and visits, I challenge you to find three truths about each prospective school...your euphemism-less truths will help set you on the way to recognizing your perfect fit!

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66