You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 05/09/18> When the light bulb finally goes on… and it’s too late.

in #blog6 years ago

Haha, I guess really we're looking to create Intelligence then. Just on a computer level.

all dictionaries, are changing the definitions.

English is a living language and changes over time. 'Humbug 'is no longer considered profanity/obscenity. Etc. I would say that over the course of a decade or so a word could change meanings. https://www.urbandictionary.com/ is the most accurate dictionary.

We were too quick to let television and electronic devices raise the children

Yesss, totally agree. While as a child I probably would have missed my electronics a great bit had I not had them, I'd probably be miles ahead of myself had I limited access. Most of my computer time paid off through learning, but TV was a waste and games were a waste.

Sort:  

I agree that English is a living language and new words are created when new technologies come about, conversely other words die off and become obsolete as the older other technologies end up dead and fade to dust. I'm just not into transgendering existing words, words have "feelings" too. Who are we to say that "bad" is now "good", what if bad really wanted to stay as bad? We should just let words live out their lives and then die off when it is their time.
If we are smart enough to create artificial intelligence we ought to be able to leave existing words meanings alone and just create some new ones if we really need one.
Just my opinion though. Maybe it is just the old man in me coming out.

Bad does mean good these days.

Yes, I was aware of that, thus the mention.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62914.22
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88