Finnish Tune Tuesdays & Thursdays (FTT) #3: Pariisin Kevät

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

This time more like FWTISILMISCTOWCAW aka *Finnish-Wednesday-Tunes-I'm Sorry-I'm Late-Maybe-I-Should-Change-the-Title-Oh-Well-Can't-Always-Win*.

(Let's not let that bother us too much shall we.)



First off I would love to wish all of you a happy amazing fresh new year! May it bring happiness and awesomeness in all forms into everyone's lives in ways never happened before.

For today's FTT we have another rather well known pop artist-turned-band, Pariisin Kevät! As you might guess from the band's name, Pariisin Kevät means the Spring of Paris in English, and the band's music goes quite hand in hand with the rather romantic sounding name - Pariisin Kevät's music, (at least their older pieces) is characterized by this fantasy-like, light and playful sound with a little bit of magic in it. For me, Pariisin Kevät has always been the Alchemist of music - light, hopeful, and imaginative. Though the band's songs do talk about grim stuff as well (actually quite a lot if you listen to the music), they do it in such a way that you can be singing along to the most morbid things yet feel really good while doing it.

Starting off with probably one of the band's most famous songs, Kesäyö (Summer Night), which was, of course, the summer hit of one year yet at least for me is still a song that I come back to from time to time. Kesäyö is a very Finnish-sounding song - I think it captures quite beautifully the feel of long white nights of the beginning of summer, but yet it does it in a very typically melancholic Finnish sound.

Istuin hämärässä alkoi hetki joka tuntui kuin ei se loppuisi milloinkaan
Hetkeksi hiljaisuus saapui luokseni kuin olento ja huusi: "Älä pelkää maailmaa."
Istuimme hetken yhdessä ja avaruus katsoi meitä

Ja ulkona kesäyö, satoi kasvoille kyyneleitä
Ja ulkona kesäyö, satoi kasvoille kyyneleitä

I sat in the dim light
For a moment silence came to me like a creature and shouted: "Don't be afraid of the world."
We sat there together for a moment and space looked at us

And outside, a summer night. Tears rained on our faces
And outside, a summer night. Tears rained on our faces


Another popular one. If the previous song was about summer, this is about spring (kevät). This is one of my own personal favorites from the band, and I love the hopeful, life-feeling tone of it. For me this is one of those songs that somehow just gets you in touch with life itself, the feeling of what it's like to live, to feel anything and everything, and celebrate it no matter what it is.

Älä juokse mun luota kun on kevät ja kevät kutsuu sua, älä kuuntele niitä Lumi sulaa, ja sulaa kylmä sydän rinnassa. On ovi auki meet siitä

Huudan kutsun pimeään. Kaiku vastaa ei riitä, kyllä pystyt parempaan

Don't run from me, when it's spring and spring is calling for you, don't listen to them
The snow is melting, and a cold heart melts in chest. The door is open you go there

I yell an invitation into the dark. The echo says it's not enough, you can do better


Talking about grim lyrics, this is one of those songs. I'm pretty sure the song is about anxiety and/or depression, yet just by listening to the music itself you would probably never guess that was what this song was about.
This is again one of my absolute all time favorites. It's just a very upbeat kind of song that takes you with it inside a story and suddenly you feel like going there and acting out the best damn fucking drama of your life.


Kun suljen silmät kuulen huudon juokse, yli veden kadonneen saaren luokse
Ja minä alan juosta, mut veri, se pakenee päästä
Kuu taivaalla loistaa, ja heijastuu jäästä
Mulla on pahoja aavistuksia, mielessä tämän tästä
Enpä taida hengissä selvitä elämastä

When I close my eyes, I hear a scream run, over the water to a lost island
And I start to run, but blood, it escapes my head
Moon in the sky is shining and, is reflected on the ice
I've got bad hunches in my mind all the time
I guess I am not going survive life alive



The song that made the band known in the mainstream (am I hipster or what). Again another grim song that is basically about the craziness of today's world, yet it's done in such a damn catchy way.


Nykyaikana on lukematon määrä vääriä polkuja
Jokainen alkaa juhlavasti kultaisesta ovesta
Fanfaarien soidessa
Tiputtelen esineitä matkan varrelle
Että löytäisin takaisin
Mut joku tuntuu keräilevän ne ennen kuin palaan
Harhailen ja ostan tuhat tyhjää arpaa

Heihei mutsi, mä en oo syöny mun lääkkeitä
Heihei mutsi, mä en oo syöny mun lääkkeitä

These days there is a countless amount of wrong paths
Each one starts festively with a golden door
As the fanfares play
I drop objects along the way
So that I'll find my way back
But someone seems to be picking them before I come back
I wander and buy a thousand empty raffle tickets

Heyhey mom, I haven't taken my medicine
Heyhey mom, I haven't taken my medicine


And to close it off and shake off all that grimness, a sweet little (kinda) love song.

I will never forget you
Even if I didn't remember my own name
You might be just the one who
Will accidentally save me from under a meteorite

Let's all be that person who saves people from being hit by meteorites. I hope you enjoyed this Tues--- um, Wednesday's Finnish tunes and I will very hopefully see you tomorrow! Have a great day, or night, or whatever you have in front of you. I am off to bed (it's 12:53 AM in Seoul). Good night! ^___^

Sort:  

Very cool! I love the fact that you’re sharing some Finnish bands with the world out here. 😊
Pariisin Kevät has been one of my fave bands for quite some time now – Hope to see them live sometime. I always seem to miss out on that every time I’m in Finland... 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @scintillaic! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61