Revival of ReadingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago

I used to be a very avid reader when I was a child. Being cooped up at home all day with an overly caring yet overburdened mother, resulted in me taking to the joys of losing myself in a children's work of fiction. Although it did simultaneously end up with me having less-than-adequate social skills which I still have a lot of progress to make in. Nonetheless, books remained a faithful companion throughout my childhood and adolescence.

However, I don't really know how it happened, but when I was about fifteen, I couldn't enjoy it as much anymore. Something changed. I started reading lesser and lesser, and reading also took longer and required more effort. I would lose focus easily. I took to other forms of recreation, mainly television shows and movies. This was new for me, but I enjoyed the additional visual stimulation which books could not provide.

But, I missed reading. It doesn't make much sense to say it that way because no one was really stopping me from reading. But it just wasn't the same whenever I tried. I would miss the feeling of being completely engrossed into a book, disconnected from reality, and sincerely doing a mental analysis of the plot and characters. Even if I did manage to complete a book, it now felt like work. I didn't know why.

It affected my creativity too. It was now harder for me to imagine or picture something even when given a description. After a point, even television shows and movies didn't excite me. It became work to watch them too. I switched to writing essays and opinion articles instead of stories. This may not seem like such a big problem, but it was to me because I felt like I was to blame for losing out on a huge part of who I was, and yet I couldn't do anything to stop it. This change happened so naturally that all I could do was stand and watch and try and hope to succeed in getting the same feeling while reading that I used to get when I was younger.

Something good happened of late. I started reading a book, and I became hooked real soon. I am feeling almost the same way I felt. I believe it's back now. I hope that that was just a phase and that now I can get back to reading like before. The book I am reading is 'Kafka On The Shore' by Haruki Murakami. I haven't completed it yet—about 70% done—but, man, it is wonderfully absurd and enthralling. This is one book where I'm really not reading it to complete it—I'm reading it to read it. If that makes sense.

I hope this feeling lasts.

Sort:  

Good post,,

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sequeira to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Michelle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77