In the words of Crocodile Dundee - “You Call That A Knife ........ THIS is A Knife!”

in #blog7 years ago

Say hello to the latest addition to my weapon collection. I am still awe of it’s beauty and ruggedness so I thought I would share it with you all!

A few of you that have been following my blog for a while, might remember that I am heavily into my Martial Arts. With my love of the martial arts comes a love for weapons. I have trained extensively with most Chinese weapons (well the more common weapons) such as sai, Tonfa, bo, nunchaku, short staffs, three section staffs, bull whips, nine section whips, butterfly daggers, butterfly knifes, tai chi swords (jian), kitana’s, throwing  And daggers (to name a few).

I am pretty excited to share my latest weapon acquisition with you all as it is a beauty. this is not a martial arts weapon as such, it’s history lies more in the American culture (I think) and this is a stunning piece of workmanship that I think is deserving of a post of it’s own.

This is a hand crafted Bowie knife. It has been hand crafted by artisan blacksmiths with hammer and anvil, using the traditional method to create Damascus steel. The technique involves forging together different grades of steel, there are different techniques utilised to layer and twist the steel them together to create a unique design or grain that is evident in the Blades unique pattern. The technique honours the traditional skills and methods that have been passed down through the millennia. Original Damascus steel dates all the way back to Viking age, and blacksmithing of early civilisations.

This particular Bowie knife has full hidden tang blade, and the handle grip is a polished stained camel bone cylinder with a walnut fiber and brass accent. The bone has been dyed green to resemble jade.

The blade itself measures 235mm with a 140mm handle, which gives us an overall length of 375mm. It weighs 760 grams and has a very strong, heavy feel in the hand. The blade is razor sharp and as it is full tang, the blade, bolster/guard and pommel is all Damascus steel. It is completely hand made, and I am really excited to add it to my weapon collection. I also have a Damascus Steel ninjutsu katana (straight kitana raher than the curved Samurai Kitana) that has had a unique method employed, which utilises black steel and the Damascus pattern (or grain) is orange and brown. I used a picture of this sword in one of my steemlords posts, and it resembles an almost obsidian look to the blade.

Anyway I hope you enjoy the photo’s of this beautiful work of art, and feel free to show off your own pride and joy weapons. 

@silvernova

Sort:  

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 1.74 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @madein-hisimage. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Wow, the workmanship is amazing. I saw a program on TV about the Japanese making this very steel, Damascus..it took them ages and it is a dying art, sadly. This is a beautiful example of their work. Looks heavy!!! Hope you get to take it bush!! Did you throw that into the tree trunk? That would be cool haha. Nice post @silvernova, will resteem and upvote

Thanks @madeinhisimage the hand crafting on this knife is stunning! It is pretty heavy too, it would definitely deliver a savage blow if thrown! I just stabbed it into the tree, sorry to spoil the illusion, but it’s still new so I am probably a little overprotective of it at the moment! Thanks heaps for the belly rub too!

Looking dangerous weapon, nice photography

Thanks, it is a very dangerous looking, feeling weapon. I happened to skim the tip of the blade when I was unwrapping it and it instantly drew blood! Good to have the first blood all ready drawn!

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-10-15 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61