10 derogatory words/phrases that have lost their credibility in my humble opinion.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago

increase-credibility.jpg

Before you read this, I want to make you aware that these are all
based on my personal observations and are therefore my subjective point of view.

Retard
The first one I have most commonly encountered in online discussions.
Losing the argument or unable to convince the other party? Well, then he
must be a retard. I very often see people in discussions resort to name calling
which to me just makes them lose their credibility

Autist
Similar to retard. Oh, you have a different point of view, I failed to convey my point of view
or I lack understanding of his argument so he must be autistic.

Nazi
A word thrown around a lot by the far left in political discussions. So often that it does not make any sense anymore. I have seen people that are leftists themselves or center-leftist been called nazi because of a disagreement. The vast majority of people being called a Nazi these days aren't actually nazi's

Racist.
Another term used often by the far left to almost everybody that holds even a slightly controversial or different opinion on certain groups. but in my country also by people of immigrant background to try to get away with things, or get the cops off their backs.

Sexist
A word being thrown around so much by certain communities that people just seem to stop caring when they are being called a sexist. For example, objectification is a form of sexism, and even though men are being mostly shamed for objectifying women, men are also being objectified on a huge scale, so often when somebody uses the word sexist to put certain people down, in my experience they come off as complete hypocrites. I have also read about legit accusations of course, but they don't seem to stand out much.

learn to spell/learn to write.
This phrase often used by grammar nazis. There are two types, the ones that just correct you out of kindness. But mostly the ones that try to put you down because it makes them feel better about themselves. I have often seen people that lose arguments resort to bashing the other person's bad grammar in order to make them feel better and more intelligent about themselves.
to give an example.
I'm done arguing with somebody who can't even form a proper sentence like you.
And then continues to nitpick where that person made 3 mistakes in his grammar and spelling.

troll
Another fun one. On sites like youtube, in arguments, I can see the word troll a lot with people that disagree. But on news sites when it comes to political issues. You're just a Russian paid troll, you're just a White house troll or you must be part of the Chinese 50 cent army. There are actually a lot of paid trolls online, but calling everybody a troll all the time just makes it so that nobody believes you when you call out the actual troll.

get a life
I sometimes play games, and this is what I encounter often in-game chat rooms. Not too long ago, I saw an ingame argument in Minecraft wherein the kid said "you have no life because you are playing Minecraft" while he himself was playing Minecraft at that moment. I also very often see this insult thrown by people who tend to be poor losers.

Communist
Being a lefty equals communism, you are left leaning? well, I'll tell you what, you're a commie. What you are actually right wing but you like this one leftwing policy? you dirty communist. You're are all Communists!!! Everybody is a Communist!!!
You get the gist. Yes, I have actually encountered people like this online. Though I used to encounter them more often in the past.

Trump colluded with Russia.
This last one is not really a derogatory phrase but I thought I'd put it in none the less.
This has been played too much by the media with only indirect evidence.
Not long ago it was proven that Hilary Clinton also colluded with Russia.
So what if its true? If Trump will actually be impeached for colluding with Russia, what will we do with Hilary for colluding with Russia?
Of course, it is no excuse but it takes away the shock factor if 100% proven that he
did collude with Russia. Fewer people will care.

Any derogatory words you think lost their credibility?
Hope you found this interesting.
Have a great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58