Game of Drones

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Superman


I wanted to share one of my toys I get t play with just about everyday. I call him Superman and he is a Drone. It's the DJI Phantom 4 Pro to be exact. Those of you who have followed my posts on Instagram, Facebook and here have seen the photographs this beauty takes.
I'll run down just a few of the specs and you'll see why I believe this is one of the best Drones on the market.

Drone blog.jpg

Drone blog-5.jpg

  • 1’’ CMOS Sensor
  • 20 Mega pixel camera
  • FOV 84° 8.8 mm/24 mm (35 mm format equivalent) f/2.8 - f/11 auto focus at 1 m
  • 4096×2160(4096×2160 24/25/30/48/50p)
    3840×2160(3840×2160 24/25/30/48/50/60p)
    2720×1530(2720×1530 24/25/30/48/50/60p)
    1920×1080(1920×1080 24/25/30/48/50/60/120p)
    1280×720(1280×720 24/25/30/48/50/60/120p)
  • Burst Shooting: 3/5/7/10/14 frames
    Auto Exposure Bracketing (AEB): 3/5 bracketed frames at 0.7

As I mentioned, this very small list of what makes up the Phantom 4 Pro. For more details, you can visit DJI here.

Drone blog-2.jpg

I upgraded to the P4P after only owning the Phantom 3 pro for a month and here are my reasons why. I do photography professionally. The biggest selling point by far is the 20 mega pixel camera. The difference in quality is tremendous. Prior to the upgrade I was worried that there wouldn't be much of a difference or that the difference may be minor.
I had purchased the P3P used on craigslist with 3 batteries, controller, case, prop guards and extra props for only $700. THAT WAS A STEAL!! You can still find those packages on craigslist I'm sure. The P4P was $1500 just for the drone, controller and styrofoam case. The batteries are $169 each, so it was going to be a hefty investment. I decided to bite the bullet and make the investment. If I had to do it over again, I wouldn't even think twice about it.

Drone blog-3.jpg

Once I took it for it's first flight, the pricing of the P4P didn't matter anymore. It was a rock as far as how steady it would hover in place when you wanted it to, it has sensors on all sides to avoid hitting obstacles, the props click on as opposed to having to screw them in. It records 4k video @ 60fps, it operates at 2 frequencies, 2.400 - 2.483 GHz and 5.725 - 5.825 GHz.
I had previously tried flying the P3P indoors, let me tell you, not the best idea and not safe at all. I tried flying the P4P indoors and I felt completely safe.


Drone blog-4.jpg
I also ended up buying a backpack from Microraptor Cases
They have a bundle for a hard-case and backpack for $234.95 right now. The great thing about the bundle is easy transfer from one case to the next.


Final Thought

If you own a Phantom 2 or 3 and are on the fence about making the upgrade, rest assured, you will be pleasantly surprised and have a great experience!
There are drones on the market ranging from $100 to in excess of thousands of dollars. I work with realtors, construction sites, landscape video and photography and make music videos and I would recommend this to anyone looking for a drone that is reliable, safe and produces pro results.

Would love to hear what your thoughts are, let me know if you fly a drone as well or are thinking about purchasing one.


Visit me on my website, Facebook and Instagram
Danny

SkyPixelPilot
Facebook
Instagram


Taken with P4P

Goose Island-2.jpg

Goose Island-4.jpg

Goose Island.jpg

Highway.jpg

Lowery Bridge.jpg

Northeast.jpg

The Island.jpg

Sort:  

OMG! Those footages awesome! I need to get my hands on one.

They are a ton of fun. I highly recommend getting one

Congratulations @skypixelpilot! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @skypixelpilot! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post! Very informative. I am still using the Phantom 3 Pro. I love it, but i don't get many occasions to fly it. Restrictions here are pretty numerous and the weather can often also be a hindrance (it gets too windy to fly pretty quick here).
I mostly do still images as opposed to video so the P4P is on my wishlist for the next upgrade (I want that 20MP!), but for now the P3P keeps me happy - if only I could fly it more here! :)
One question though, I have a DJI backpack for my P3P.. Would the P4P fit in that or would I need to get a new bag? Are the batteries for the P4P much bigger?

Hi Fifty, where do you live that you have so much restrictions?
I know what you mean about the weather. I've had a few stretches where I was bound indoors. After 2 days I'm pretty upset.
I remember having difficulties if it was 10mph winds with the P3P. I would be afraid to take it anywhere over 100-150 feet.
With the P4P, I've taken it up at 15-18 mph over 300ft and it held up extremely well, I was nervous tho for sure :) But it was all good and the footage was usable and stable.
As far as the back pack goes, it's tricky. The P4P camera is slightly larger, so I know the foam inside the hard cases are very different. What I've seen, 90% of them are not interchangeable.
The batteries on the P4p are huge compared to the P3p batteries. The battery actually feels heavier than the Drone itself, and last almost twice as long. I ended up getting 3 batteries in total, so I can take it on a shoot for almost 1.5 hours. I never let the battery drain completely when I'm out flying.

Thanks for all that information. That's super helpful! I live in the UK in a pretty urban area, and you're not allowed to fly in built up areas or too close to people unless you have a professional certification and submit requests to the local council and submit a risk assessment etc first. Which really isn't worth the effort unless you are working commercially.
There are locations outside the city but getting a free day where I can go and have the weather conditions be good dont happen often :)

They just passed a law here in the states, if you are flying for non-commercial use, you no longer need to register your drone, but we do have a rule that says do not fly over a crowd.

Yeah I heard you needed to register regardless in the US until recently. You've never had to do that here, but then the rules are still developing. Unfortunately we are reactive here and not proactive, so rules usually come in the form of new restrictions after someone has done something stupid. Like fly over an airport or crash into the palace gardens while the queen is in residence, or (and this i find rather amusing) use them to smuggle drugs and mobile phones into prisons! Gotta give them credit for ingenuity :)

You're absolutely correct, there is always one person who messes it up for the rest of us by doing something stupid. I can see the temptation in trying to get some amazing footage by flying near an airport or next to a helicopter, but it's not worth other peoples lives.
As far as the drug smuggling, I can see that being a norm in the years to come.
The drone i purchased does quite a bit, but i'm sure it doesn't even scratch the surface of more sophisticated ones. Here is an article where the New York City Firedepartment purchased an $85,000.00 drone. It's amazing what it can do.
And then there is this


Taxi Drones.
Unbelievable where technology is taking us.

That is amazing. I think so far we have only scratched the surface of what we can do with drones. Im not entirely convinced by the drone taxi as a mainstream form of transport but who knows how the technology will progress!

The drone taxi may be something that will most likely be popular when you and I are long gone, but I'm sure it's coming. I think we'll see deliveries from Amazon soon as well.

Thanks for the information.. keep it up..

Thank you elsabailey

Thanks for shairing keep it up!

Thank you fkofficials

Still like your photo's. Please send more it is wonderful.

Thank you estellemcl

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71