Problematic Baking

in #blog7 years ago

There is an unspoken rule amongst successful businesswomen; never bake. Do what you like in your private sphere, but to the rest of the world, you are ill advised to ever show up with baked goods or to so much as allude to the fact that you know how. It's an absurd notion that being associated with baking will make you appear too maternal to advance in your position and garner professional respect of your colleagues. You can cook and you can show up with something store bought, but never bake. This rule rings true as I've observed how bringing in cranberry coffee cake or muffins immediately led to a change in people's interactions to me.

20170704_081605.jpg

In writing this blog, I've debated incorporating my kitchen activities into it. While strong passions of mine, I'm apprehensive to once again undermine the intellectual validity of my other posts because socially constructed gender norms are an unfortunate reality.

Riddle me this, what would you honestly think about a professional woman showing up with a pie? Has this affected how you view your colleagues or how you've treated them? Or have you observed this in the workplace? Do you believe this would impact the overall attraction of my blog? Tell me, Steemit. Discuss this absurd construction.

Sort:  

Interesting ! I feel generalizing is a way of reducing reality into words and meanings. I dont let it bother me really. (but I'm a guy so I assume things are different). I am a musician and where I am from it is not considered a valid profession. So being labeled musician can put you through stressful situations. But thats never stopped me from sharing my music. Let the world see your pies.

Interesting, I'd never considered musicianship as a correlate. In your experience, have you observed differences when women self identify as musicians?

Woah. I've never thought about this before. I brought in a homemade cake only a few months after starting at GM because my manager was having a baby shower. I don't know if it changed people's perception of me. As far as I can tell, people in my office respect folks who can cook or bake. I'd be interested to hear other people's thoughts on this though!

It took me by surprise the first time I heard it too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68897.34
ETH 3759.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44