A Silly Little Happy

in #blog7 years ago

When I was a teenager, I had the best bed on the planet. It made me incredibly happy.



bed.jpg

Please note the Tori Amos posters. Because... teenage angst.



Ever since I lost the canopy 10 years ago, a bed has just been a place to sleep. Not the little safe haven that it used to be.

Especially since I returned home with family and into the cramped room that used to be my little brother's, as he had settled into mine when I moved away at 18.
The room is pretty small, and I have my whole life and most of the contents for a small apartment packed into it.



bed2.jpg



As you can see, my bedding was lacking in give-a-damn.

I hadn't gotten new, matching bedding in quite some time. Around 6 years to be exact, and even that purchased set was second hand. To me, things like that always seem like a frill. Luxury but not really necessary.

Is it clean? Does it keep you warm? Good enough.

Well, one day, since I've made a little money on Steemit, I decided to take a poke around on Amazon and look over my dusty wishlist. That was when comforter sets I had long ago looked at caught my eye again.


"Hmmmm... why the hell not?" -Me


I then swiftly realized I had no idea what to look for. Does thread count really matter? What are standard prices for bed sets? I knew I wanted something pretty. I knew that I can't sleep without a comforter. I knew I needed a pillowcase. So I spent far too much time, like I do with any online purchase, reading reviews obsessively and comparison shopping until I found the perfect one.

And theeeeen I got gun shy.

I always have trouble pulling the trigger on purchases for me alone. So I turned to my friends in the MSP Discord for sage blanket advice. Sending my number one selection to a few friends and asking them if it was a reasonable deal. That was when one friend, who has wanted to not be named, told me to send her my address, it is now a birthday gift, and don't give her any lip.

I cried a little. I won't lie.

Especially when it arrived with this amazing message:



bed5.jpg

It gave me a serious case of the minnow feel good.


And so, my bed became beautiful.

bed3.jpg



And a couple days later, I got a notification from amazon that something on my list was back in stock and ON SALE. For around $15 and free shipping.

Guess what it was?


bed4.jpg


BOOM.



That night I stood back, smiled, and took it in. "prettyprettypretty", I whispered, and dove under the canopy and rolled around just a little bit.

And that was when I felt something... I had forgotten about. The REAL reason I loved that canopy so long ago. Why I really missed it but just assumed it was aesthetic.

I felt so... safe. Sheltered. Like I was being protected. There was this comforting closeness, and at the same time, bigness. It was like a loving hug from someone strong. Enveloping you in this sense of "nothing can get me here".

I almost instantly fell asleep, and slept better than I had in... I don't know how long. I don't think I even rolled over once. It was so peaceful. So comfortable. I was in my own little nook in a place that I always feel like I am taking up space that is never my own.

I am sitting under it right now, actually. After the chaos of dealing with my family, nerves shot, frazzled to no end, as soon as I duck under that silly piece of mesh, and sit down on my space sheets, it all washes away. It can't touch me.

I have my happy place back.



stitchhead.png


Credit to giphy and imgur for gifs.

Sort:  

Damn, I'm a guy and if I had a bed like that you'd never be able to pry me out of it! That's SO awesome! :)

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @Kubby from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

When I hear Tori Amos, I think Neil Gaiman. BOOM!

YES! You are AWESOME.

Awwwwww. No YOU ARE!

Ooh! It's stunning!

That was so so kind of your Palnet friend! Wow!

Thank you for saying so! I am really, really in love with it. I have a really hard time getting out of bed now. :D

And it really was, I have no idea how I could even begin to repay them! <3

Yay! Good for you. It's amazing how the small things can make such a difference

Pff looks beautiful and confortable af

Oh dude, it is so comfy. It is actually a memory foam mattress. I call it my "marshmallow". LOL
And thank you!

Got your night time utopia in full effect :-)

It is HOPPING! I really freakin' love it.

Reading this made me happy. My bed was also my safe space away from the world when I was a teenager, and I had the exact same Invader Zim bedding! Right now I just have a mattress and box spring, really lacking in comfort. Enjoy your beautiful new bedding and canopy! Following :)

Ahhh! What happened to yours?! I stupidly gave mine to one of my exes for some reason. I miss that adorable blanket.
I hope you get the chance to spruce up your sleeping digs soon, as well!

Thank you so much for coming by and staying! <3

I was totally going to comment on how awesome the Invader Zim blanket was!

I think one of my ex's has it as well :/ The comforter I had was for a twin bed and I donated it when I upgraded to a queen. Deep regrets!! I'm saving up for some nice bedding now :)

'lacking in give-a-damn.'
Lol!
Love the way you write @stitchybitch! Following you :)

Ps: what's the story behind your name? Bet there's an interesting story there :)

Hahahah! Thank you so much! That really means a lot. <3
Oh man, I wish the story was funnier. But I love doing old lady crafts like cross stitch, knitting, and the like. I also swear like a sailor. So I combined my two favorite things. Hahaha!

Upvoted. I'm going to resteem this now :]

Oh wow, thank you so much! I really appreciate it!

Such a wonderful story, and so well deserved <3
There is some really amazing people in this world, this really makes me smile: a lovely, comfy, wonderful happy place!

Awwww! Thank you, Kerlund! <3

There really are, and it seems that a huge majority of them are based right here and in MSP/PAL!
It is so wonderful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30