Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 07/05/18> The difference a day makes in Texas…

in #blog6 years ago

Some things just make absolutely no sense to me and I don’t think I am alone here when I say that. Today is the 5th of July and today it is illegal to purchase fireworks in the State of Texas. It seems that the state has determined that fireworks are a bad thing and people don’t need to buying fireworks. The funny part is, that come the end of December the state will have decided that fireworks are a good thing and they don’t pose any problems so it will be legal to purchase them then.

There wasn’t any issue with fireworks as far as I know that would have caused the state to impose the regulations we have with regard to fireworks, but being that the state needs to exercise its power, we do have regulations on when it is legal to sell and purchase fireworks.

The State of Texas found it necessary to make it where fireworks can only be sold two times a year, and only for a ten day period each time. So from 12:00 AM on June 25 through 11:59 PM on July 4th a person could buy or sell fireworks in the state legally. New Years Day and the nine days leading up to it is the other time when it is legal.

Personally, I don’t waste my money on buying fireworks but that is just me, there are several folks that enjoy buying fireworks and shooting them off and I say good for them. I don’t mind watching a fireworks display even if it is just the neighbors down the road shooting off some.

I do have a problem with the state though and their regulations when it comes to fireworks because it is just one more exercise of power that they really don’t need to have. The businesses that sell fireworks collect sales tax and operate on the up and up for the most part as far as I know, so why on earth does the state determine only 20 days a year is when they can operate?

I can think of a whole bunch of other businesses that ought to be regulated as to how many days a year they can operate besides the fireworks stands. The first one that I would restrict would be massage parlors; people don’t need to get a massage every day of the year. Also, a bunch of these “massage parlors” are nothing more than places to get some sexual favors performed for a price. Twenty days a year should be plenty of time for massage parlors to make enough money to survive, the fireworks people do.

Second on my list would be sushi restaurants, I can’t stand sushi and actually if I were making the laws I would probably just outlaw them all together.

Moving on with my list, government offices should be only allowed to be open twenty days a year. Any business that they can’t take care in the twenty days each year just needs to be postponed until the following year, no penalties or interest either could be imposed for things that carry over from year to year, like fines or taxes.

Television stations would be another one that should be limited on the number of days they can broadcast. Two days a month should be plenty for them, maybe then they would actually be able to fill a 30 minute news cast with real news and not the garbage that they are reporting as news.

Ice cream trucks would be another even though I love ice cream, I just can’t stand the music they play to attract the little kids to them. I used to tell our kids that you couldn’t trust any ice cream coming from those trucks because the drivers of the trucks might have licked the ice cream cones and then put the wrapper back on them. I think one day a week for ice cream trucks would be plenty and that day would be Monday from 9:00 AM to 4:00PM.

Beauty parlors and nail salons would also be on my list of restricted businesses, women waste to much time and money in those places. I would give them the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month to be open, so 24 days a year for them. Those places just prey on the insecurities of the women they have as customers, and most women don’t look any better when they come out as before they went in there. I know, they feel better about themselves and that is the important part, yeah right.

Abortion clinics are another business that I would permanently close; I would not give them even one day a year to operate. I would give every owner, doctor and nurse that works in one 40 years in prison though, murder is murder in my book, and abortion is murder.

The fireworks stands get the short end of the stick here in Texas for no good reason other than the state says they can give them the shaft and they do. That is about as plain and simple an explanation as I can come up with, so if you are planning a celebration in Texas and you want to include fireworks as a part of that celebration you need to plan ahead or bring some with you from another state.

Until next time,
@sultnpapper

All Photos are the sole property of @sultnpapper, so don't be stealing them.

https://sola.ai/sultnpapper

https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=43f11540d8

Full disclosure : I do receive a benefit if you sign up for either program using these referral links provided here.

Sort:  

I remember this fireworks ban when I lived in AZ, it seemed strange to me but with the heat understandable.

People used to head to Mexico just to buy them, and smuggle them back into the US.

If fire is the main concern then they should also ban matches and lighters and cigarettes. I think a lot more wild fires are started by someone throwing a lit cigarette butt out the window of a car than would be started by someone shooting off fireworks.
We also do have bans on open fires outdoors when it is extremely dry and in some years while it was still legal to buy the fireworks during the time periods it was illegal to use them for the fear that they could start a fire so I am not buying in on that as part of the reasoning, it would be just as easy to add the word "fireworks" to the burn bans when it is necessary, they add it at times when it is legal to purchase and the burn ban is in affect.
I wonder if the search dogs at the border crossings now will catch fireworks? And if you got caught trying to smuggle some in if you wouldn't be charged as a terrorist for trying to bring in weapons of mass destruction ? Since they do explode like bombs, it would not surprise me one bit if the government wouldn't try to make that connection to it.

And if you got caught trying to smuggle some in if you wouldn't be charged as a terrorist for trying to bring in weapons of mass destruction ? Since they do explode like bombs, it would not surprise me one bit if the government wouldn't try to make that connection to it.

Lol, you put forward some interesting concepts! Fireworks are legal here and not a big deal. I see them as a waste of money, poof and they are gone.

People want what they cant have. You can exploit this fact to your own advantage sometimes.

It is like burning money, only they go bang. I don't buy them either. I work to hard to earn what I do to just turn around and light it on fire even if it does make a bang sound.

I kind of agree with a ban on Fireworks and just letting the professionals dot he displays, mainly because I did work as a Paramedic for a couple of years decades ago and saw the damage done to a few people because of not being sensible with Fireworks

I am guessing auto correct got you on this reply at the beginning and you actually meant you do agree with the ban. Either that or you are thinking that if we could buy fireworks all year long the paramedics would have more business and that would be a good thing for them.
The damn phones and all those features...

@sultnpapper LOl Yes it did
NO I was thinking i agree with the Ban Para medics have plenty of work as it is

In my humble opinion governments have their regulatory noses in too many things. They would like to be in your bedroom if they could too! I think too many regulations leaves the people unable to think for themselves. They follow like the government laws like little-lost lemmings. I wonder what the government folks would think if they were regulated on what they could pass or not pass as laws. I think we need to go back to the days when elected officials can't be lawyers...

I am all for going back to the days when lawyers couldn't be in government. The government has been in the bedrooms in the past, at least here in Texas.
There should be a law that says each time a new law is created two should have to be repealed, that might slow the bastards down just a tad, neither of us would be alive by the time it would really make a difference but it is good to dream every now and then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98