Spending Cash To Save Cash By Quitting Smoking

in #blog5 years ago

So a couple of posts ago, I was talking about how I quit smoking and took up vaping.

bcv.png

Mainly for my health, but for the possible cost savings as well. Little did I know that this would turn into a rabbit's hole of its own.

Yes, you CAN save money, but it takes some reserach and effort to do so.

In the short-term, you're going to spend more than you thik.

I started with a Juul that was 20 bucks just for the battery, then you have to buy the pods of liquid. Around here it's about $15 for 4 pods. That does come out to just under $4 per pod before tax is included. Sure that's cheaper than a pack of cigarettes, but not by the leaps and bounds that I was hoping for.

So only a couple of days after the Juul purchase, I found myself wanting a refillable system. I tried to refill the Juul pods, but that was a leaking nightmare. Bottle of juice = $18

I went to the local vape shop and asked.. They pointed me towards a Novo by Smok. Better battery, hold more liquid, and has refillable pods. PERFECT! $28

sl1600.jpg

For a few days... While the convenience was nice, it gave a slight plastic taste to the vapor. Not good for someone that's trying to quit. So back to the drawing board I went.

At this point I'm one week in to not having a cigarette, but I'm also Over $110 into this! I KNOW it can be cheaper than buying packs of sticks, but wow, I wasn't expecting this out of the box! And the sad thing is, I'm just getting warmed up.

In the next post, I'll go over what I did to FINALLY get the system right... And how much more I've spent....

Shane 1.jpg

Sort:  

Why didn't you just listen to @discordiant?

Plastic taste? Eww!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93