Corinth One room School house the last single-room school left in Delaware, County Indiana

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Fourth Graders in Muncie, Indiana get a unique field trip each year

The Corinth one room school house is a tradition for Muncie, Indiana Public school students that are in the fourth grade. They go on a field trip to the school and spend the day learning like they did in the late 1800s and early 1900s. I love this little place as it really hasn't changed much over time. There isn't much information available online about the school house but if you want to read what little there is you can go here or here to read more of what there is.

What I remember from when I was a kid

The school was a one room school house that educated children in grades 1-6. They also had us writing with ink wells and quills, which isn't as easy as it sounds. It is around the corner from my ancestor's homestead. I once found some records that suggested some of them went to this school. Which I find really really cool. Also there is no bathrooms in the school. There is an outhouse. Here are some photos I took of the school.

DSC_0012 (2).JPG

DSC_0005 (2).JPG

DSC_0015.JPG

DSC_0025.JPG the outhouse

I am glad to see they have preserved one of these old schools.

There are a few littered around the area in disrepair. When we get settled I will go take some photos of them also. Just so you guys can see why I say I am glad to see this one has be preserved. I know the school a couple of years ago was having issues with funding. I am not sure if they gotten that taken care of or not. But now that I had to stop and take photos of the school. I am going to try to find out.

untitled.png

Sort:  

This is a really neat idea! I had forgotten about this until now but can recall something about hearing about your field-trip there around the time that it happened. Thanks for the memories! I'm going to find out more and get the word out.

Excellent work on saving this one! These are like little time capsules.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72