Instant Pleasure vs Future Fulfillment

in #blog6 years ago

child-1721906_1280.jpg

coffeseparator bigger.png

Future Vs Now

I've reached a crossroads a few days ago. One of my closest friends wants me to go to a festival here in Portugal, something called Sudoeste!

Sudoeste has DJ's, Rappers, Reggae, Kizomba, Funk, it has everything that the Portuguese people are listening to nowadays. Just this year we have Marshmallo and Hardwell, two of my favorite DJs!

I've been to Sudoeste a few years ago, and it is REALLY awesome! It was one of the key factors for the biggest change in my life, I went from an introvert to an extrovert, this was especially because of my friend...

He is one of those guys that doesn't give a fuck about what other people care or say, he just wants to party! To live in the moment. To live in the now! Let tomorrow's me deal with tomorrow's problems! And this way of thinking had a huge impact on me, or maybe it was all the alcohol...

After 2 days in I went from an introvert to an extrovert. Instead of being my friend saying shit to do I was the one that thought about the shit to do. What do I mean by shit? Well, let's just say that after a couple of days all the supermarkets knew who we were... We had the stupidest ideas and did them! There were no questions asked! The rule was, one guy has an idea the other has to do it!

One of the days we were both drunk and I told him to go ask the guys playing table football to let us join. If they said no he was supposed to grab his own balls and put them over the table saying " Then play with this balls". We were both drunk, it was a stupid idea, but the whole table started laughing and they let us play with them😂

The problem this summer is that I had one simple goal... Go full time on my hobby... Steemit. I wanted to get as much STEEM as I could to increase my portfolio. To increase my revenue. To increase my net worth!

I'm 24, I'm starting to think where I want to be in 10 years. Where do I want to be in 10 years? The dream is hard, almost impossible to accomplish, but I want to have enough passive income that I'm financial free from a 9-5 job!

I don't want to be a slave to societies 9-5 job's mentality. I want to do whatever I want, whenever I want. If I want to travel the world, I will. If I want to start a company, I will!

This is the sort of mentality I now have. I'm 24 and need to start thinking about my future! I need to start thinking about my life. Meanwhile, my friend is 21...

Him being 21 means he is still in the "right age" to party, he is still in the right age to drink, he doesn't need to care about tomorrow, he needs only to care about the now, the instant pleasure...

But this got me thinking, what is better?

Invest now and live maybe 10 more "crappy" years until having some financial freedom or just living in the moment...

Future fulfillment vs Instant pleasure ... that is what all this comes down to...

Yes, my friend might be getting lots of fun now, but what about in a couple years when he has to work a 9-5 job? What about his future fulfillment?

The first time I went to Sudoeste was in 2012, I spent around 150 bucks there. Imagine if I had put those 150 bucks into crypto... or into the stock market...

If I had put those 150 bucks into crypto I would have around 300.000 bucks December 2017... those 300k bucks into a dividend portfolio giving out 3% per year would bring me 9k per year, which, taking out taxes, is more or less half so, 4.5k each year, for free, for just having my big ass on the couch... And all this math was done conservatively. The actual return would actually be higher...

I'm inclined to go for my future fulfillment than going for my instant pleasure... especially since in September classes restart and I will have plenty of instant pleasure with my classmates...

I'm inclined to think about the Teut of the future, learning skills now, writing content now, reading books so that the Teut of Tomorrow has an easier less stressful life. If the Teut of the moment, the one who wants instant pleasure, had his way I would spend the whole holidays slouching on the sofa, drinking booze, eating pizza, when the festival came I would spend the whole days drinking and having fun... but in a couple of years I would be stuck being part of the 9-5 masses...

The good old 9-5 masses... What they don't realize is that they are giving their "lifetime" for money! A normal person earns money by giving their time, a smart person makes their money earn more money!

I would be working a 9-5 job that, not only is stressful just because of the sheer workhours, but it is also stressful because I chose a stressful career! Yeah, being a vet is not easy guys, a larger than normal % of people are dicks to animals and we end up being the ones to take care of the situation, in a good or bad way...

This instant pleasure vs future fulfillment is a real issue with most people... people just think of the next instants...

That is why the % of obese people is so high, people don't think about the freaking future!

In my college, for example, students would rather go out, destroyer their own bodies like there was no tomorrow. And instead of studying a little every day they study everything at the last moment... Some try to cram everything the day before!

I'm trying to change this mentality, because yes, I also have this "disease", I only think about the now. Why stay home today and study if I can go out and party? Why invest to have a less stressful future? Now I know better, future fulfillment is the way to go!

In a decade or two the same instant pleasure people that told me "Why aren't you having fun with us, why don't you drink, why this and that" will be working stressful jobs! Their own lifespan and health will start to decay, slowly driving them into madness, until they eventually give up and live the rest of their lives as mindless consumerist zombies, waiting for the day that they die... waiting for the day that their enslavement ends...

Meanwhile, hopefully, I'll be on a beach somewhere around the world, with my boat parked in front of the beach, my friends and family will be with me, because money without friends and family is not worth having... I'll be fulfilled and happy, distressed, maybe I'll start a company or 2 to make the whole world a better place, like Elon Musk, my role model does... I'll have future fulfillment!

Images Free Source - 1, 2,3,4,5,6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17

coffeseparator bigger.png

Question of the day: What is your opinion about future fulfillment vs instant pleasure?

Footer Template.jpg

coffeseparator bigger.png
Get More and Higher Upvotes: Steemfollower
Convert your Bitcoin to EUR/USD : Coinbase
Buy all kinds of Cryptocurrency: Binance
coffeseparator bigger.png

Sort:  

first of all the post was amazing ( i intended to write a similar one in the following days but i guess i leave for a while). We are basically on the same age i am 23 so the same question pops in my head. I think there is no right or wrong answer to that and i will explain why.

In a few words ''theory of relativity :P''

Now to ''analyze'' it a bit further i think it's what makes you happy. For example although chances are that the 9-5 job that most of us will get will be not exactly what we wished for and won't be 9-5 :P it would be 9 to 6-7-8 plus the time to get home :P there is a small chances to actually find a job like that, that you are interested with and like.

When i did my internship ( i don't know in portugal how that works out) but in Greece there are from 1 to 6 month internship aside from Erasmus. i was lucky enough to be in an institute that have 6 months internship. I found exactly the job i wanted, i was good at it, the workspace and people were amazing and they even tried to keep me ( but we have mandatory army in greece :P so that didn't happen). If i ever have the chance to get in a job like that with ofc opportunities to evolve i would do so with happiness.

On the other hand i had though like you did about chances that i lost in crypto. For instance i had my eyes on bitcoin since it was 5 bucks i was a lot younger and feared if i would lose my 50-100 bucks but we can't turn time around neither can we exactly know in our position what's gonna happen in the next 2-10 years. So even if you invest in a particular crypto or more having in your mind a ''future fulfillment'' you may lose everything but you may win it all! it's a risk and more money means more risk.

Finally take as an example steemit and my ''story'' i started when it was 0,07$ i saw it grow at 1$ and then the 10sbd came. i have that time about 220-230sbd meaning 2200-2300 let's say - fees etc etc 2000. i could take at hand 2000 but instead waited cause i thought of the future :P if you check the price now you see what was the future awaited me :P Some people that manipulated the markets knew it and now are rich. In a way it's a gamble :P

Regarding the job, yeah it's really dependent on the type of people we work with and the type of work, I probably need to do more interships, only did 2 so far... maybe i just didn't find "my place".

Same exact story, the only difference is that i started on steemit and cryptos back in january this year, before that i didn't have "the balls" to buy anything...

Wait for the future, We are in a correction, the market can't keep going up forever! Corrections are part of the ride :)

I guess i also get a little instant pleasure from buying cryptos, maybe it's the gambling part, or maybe it's because i'm trying to make the future a better place for everyone.

Thanks for reading :) always glad to answer to comments

Yoh filotasriza3, gave you another 4 SmartCash in my latest giveaway :)

o problema não era o dinheiro...o problema era SABERES que as crypto iam subir tanto...era como ganhar o Euromilhões...também parece fácil...se eu tivesse sabido que os números eram o 6, o 20, o 32, o 43, o 7 e o 27 na semana passada eu hoje estava rico.

O problema nem foi esse, eu sempre soube fazer bons investimentos antes de as coisas subirem... o problema foi mesmo falta de tomates.
Eu queria investir na tesla, na nvidea, nas empresas canadianas de produção de canabis e nas cryptomoedas antes de elas subirem, mas nunca tive tomates, tinha uma voz sempre a dizer-me então e se baixar, vais perder o dinheiro... voz a qual eu chamo de pai... mas pronto, ensinou-me muita da vida mas no que toca a investimentos nao sabe porque nunca aprendeu...

Fica ja aqui escrito, as proximas grandes tecnologias nos proximos 5 anos a explodirem vão ser as da inteligencia artificial... as criptomoedas vao passar de minar para proof of stake e o preço das acções da nvidea vão baixar, essa vai ser a altura certa para comprar acções da intel , nvidea e amd porque no futuro tudo vai utilizar chips, e as 3 empresas principais da produção de chips são estas 3... também vais ver o mercado europeu a crescer nas empresas de canabis e se quiseres ir ainda mais longe, investir em empresas de desalanização e terrenos com acesso a agua tambem é bom negocio, no futuro com o aumento da pop a agua vai ficar escassa...

Estas a relacionar saber o numero do euromilhoes com o mercado, são coisas diferentes, um é a base de sorte o outro tem uma grande parte de fatores socio-politico-economicos que és capaz de prever.

elas vão passar para proof of stake mas também vai surgir concorrência à maluca, e também vai surgir concorrência à maluca para essas empresas(intel, amd e nvidea)....basta uma empresa grande(por exemplo a tesla ou a microsoft) meter-se nisso por achar que vai ser o futuro....e acabou-se a festa....eu acho que é possível saber em que investir e ganhar muito dinheiro mas......e eu não acredito que a cannabis cresça a longo prazo....nem acho que falte água.....a maior parte do planeta é água e é fácil torná-la potável...também acho que a ecologia é uma fraude para alimentar o negócio do ambiente e da ecologia, que é um negócio do crlho...quem pensa que os grandes ambientalistas são estudantes punk sem dinheiro está enganado: são gajos com muito mais massa do que eu e tu.

Viste o que aconteceu com o mercado da canabis no canada? assim que começou a ser legalizado as acções dispararam por ai acima, ao contrario do tabaco nao causa cancro nem outros males, e ao contrario do alcool nao te estraga todo, o alcool e o tabaco sao duas das maiores industrias, o canabais vai ser a 3, desde fumar canabis até fazer materiais com o canhamo, vai ser uma grande industria e portugal se quiser com a quantidade de sol que tem pode ficar no centro de tudo...

Não sei se te dás muito com a juventude de hoje, mas digo-te da minha turma de universidade que são umas 60 pessoas, só para ai entre 10-15 é que nunca exprimentaram canabis, e provavelmente dos outros 50 metade fuma de vez em quando...

A tesla? A microsoft? Primeiro, a tesla tem um market cap de 50 bilions e tem tido prejuizo atrás de prejuizo, criar um negocio desde o chão para competir com os grandes é dificil, a intel e a nvidea têm mais do triplo do market cap da tesla... A microsoft nao se vai meter a fazer chips apenas por um motivo, tem parcerias com a intel e se nao me engano com a nvidea, provavelmente são donos de uma % de ambas as companhias, a google( alphabet para ser mais exacto) tbm deve ter uma % de ambas as companhias... achas mesmo que eles vao criar infraestruturas para fabricar chips para fazerem concorrencia contra sim mesmos?

Falta de agua vai haver, alias, já existe em varios paises durante o verão, só em portugal durante o verão tens pequenas cidades sem agua nenhuma, para a tornares potavel tens as centrais de desalanização para retirar o sal da agua do mar, mas ngm anda a investir nisso. Penso que só o Irão é que investiu nisso, neste momento eles têm tanta agua devido a estas centrais que começaram a vender aos vizinhos... Portugal também podia fazer algo igual...

Eu não penso que os grandes ambientalistas são estudantes punks sem dinheiro, mas basta olhares para os numeros de especies em extinção, da temperatura a aumentar ao longo dos anos, do gelo nos polos a derreter... os USA estão tão mal em termos de abelhas que têm de chamar camiões de abelhas dos canadianaos para fertilizar os campos...

https://www.theguardian.com/society/2016/may/25/teen-adolescent-marijuana-weed-pot-use-abuse-decline as mudanças climáticas são cíclicas, estamos a entrar numa era glacial diferente, não tem nada a ver com coisas feitas pelo homem...Israel investiu nisso, mas quando alguém investir nisso em escala acaba-se a falta de água....fazer chips qualquer um pode fazer......e os chinocas vão fazer chips ao preço da uva mijona se a coisa escalar ( https://www.efe.com/efe/english/business/google-and-intel-beware-china-is-gunning-for-dominance-in-ai-chips/50000265-3483290 )...há várias variantes e as coisas não são assim tão fáceis de prever....pode coincidir que suba, pode descer também.....não funciona assim...o teu pai aconselhou-te uma coisa porque aquilo podia descer....e com um grande investimento nisso um gajo não tem paz de espírito, tem de estar sempre atento a mudanças no mercado para poder vender e esse tempo e energia poderia ser dedicado a outras coisas que gerassem mais coisas boas para a pessoa...com um pequeno investimento para os ganhos não vale a pena estar a perder assim tanto tempo e energia.

Eu nao digo que seja facil de prever, que os chips vao ser importantes vão, que as acções de empresas que fazem chips vao aumentar, vão, eu investeria 75% na intel e na nvidea e 25% na empresa chinesa, diversificar é a melhor solução para evitar perdas... A intel e a nvidea vao continuar a ser um dos maiores produtores, os chineses querem produzir para auto consumo como tudo... eles até querem fazer um "windows" deles... Vai haver um BOOM na china daqui a uns anos, tens investidores como o Jim Breyer que estão a meter uma grande % do seu portfolio na china, eu faria o mesmo...

Quanto ao grande investimento vs pequeno investimento so digo que, ninguem nunca ganhou nada por ficar parado, coisas que gerassem mais coisas boas para a pessoa estas a falar do que mais exactamente? Trabalhar? Em portugal trabalhar é quase escravatura... E depois, que faço com o dinheiro? Tenho tudo o que quero neste momento, nunca tive falta de nada, junto no banco? Juntar dinheiro no banco é deixa-lo a ganhar pó e a desvalorizar ano apos anos...

Como um grande investidor e milionario disse num dos podcasts dele: "Normal people sell their time for money, smart people make their money earn for them" , se estás com medo de perder o dinheiro apenas digo, uma das regras DE OURO de investir é: Investe apenas o que estás disposto a perder.

Quanto a Israel, nao sei se percebeste mas até me deste razão... eu digo para apostar em empresas de desalinização porque vao ser elas a tirar sal da agua e tal como tu disseste ".Israel investiu nisso, mas quando alguém investir nisso em escala acaba-se a falta de água"

Quanto a era glacial, explica-me então o buraco da camada de ozono? Não tivemos efeito nenhum na terra? Explica-me o porque de cada vez mais especies estarem em vias de extinção... explica-me porque de eu ir a palestras de medicina veterinaria e os entendidos na materia falarem todos disso... Pessoas com cursos superiores e que estudaram o assunto...

Alias melhor... a NASA! https://climate.nasa.gov/evidence/ acho que a NASA sabe do que fala, confio mais em cientistas na NASA que toda a vida estudaram do que o que leio num jornal ou o que o Trump diz...

"The current warming trend is of particular significance because most of it is extremely likely (greater than 95 percent probability) to be the result of human activity since the mid-20th century and proceeding at a rate that is unprecedented over decades to millennia."

Tens aqui a parte mais importante do site se nao quiseres ler

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Teutonium from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85