Building Survival Gear & Food Storage Area Plus My Office

in #blog5 years ago

I have recently been working for an out of business lumber mill a lot outside the homestead. This takes up quite a bit of my time these days. But when I am back at the off grid homestead I try to get some good work in. The most recent project was to build a large set of storage shelves to hold our preps and food storage.

We are homesteaders but also preppers. I think most homesteaders are sort of preppers in a way because we all put away our own food supplies during times of plenty such as the harvest or hunting season.

We needed a place to put all of our gear into one location for a better overview so I started bringing home some lumber from the mill. This is aged and sun grayed wood but still quite solid and usable. It fits nicely with the dark wood color of our tiny house as well so I did not sand or plane it before building.

I built 6 foot wide by 6 foot tall shelves that are 22 inches deep. This gives us a lot of storage space in what is now our storage room and my office.

I built three sections at 22 inches wide so it now spans one wall of the room.

The wood was a bit wet from recent snow so it took me some time to dry it all out before I could start putting things into the shelves. But when they were dry enough I brought over all our survival gear and started to sort it into the shelves. This includes our camping and hiking gear as well. But now it is all neatly in one place.

Literally one half of the shelving goes to my wife Melanie for food storage. The other half is for camping and survival. This works out perfectly and holds everything we needed to put in there.

The other side of the room is now my office. This is where I work on my videos and articles all day.

You can watch the videos of the construction below:

While you are over there please subscribe to my YouTube channel and follow our videos as we strive to become fully self sufficient and off the grid on a budget.

Also check out DIY Tube Video Community which is a growing alternative video sharing community. All members earn rewards for activities on the site which can be used for perks inside the community.

DIY Tube coins can be used to promote your video or channel, saved or traded on the Ethereum network.

http://www.diytube.video

Freedom of Speech

Sort:  

DIY at it's best. Use what you have.

Thank you. Yes thats the way :)

I like your setup and your food supplies really will last you a zombie apocalypse there @thediyworld

Thanks. Yes hard times are coming I believe and we hope to be ready for it. I pray that you will also be on your feet by then.

My wife did not know a thing about food preservation because in the Philippines she grew up just walking out and eating food all over the place at any time. I guess it will be easier there than for the US where everyone depends on the grocery store.

That has to be one of the worst things you have ever built its not fit for a garage or spank shed never mind your house.
The wood was wet, covered in mould that you couldn't be bothered to treat, you really are a bum Trog arnt you, but saying that I suppose its good enough for you now that your on your own.

Sturdy work!

Thanks

How much of that food is expired? Are you just going to dump that food on shelves until it spoils?

To call it amateur looking would be an insult to amateurs.

Wouldn't look out of place in a dumpster, is my thought.

And it doesn't...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71