Making Adjustable Arms On My Solar Panel Racks To Adjust For Seasons

in #blog5 years ago

I made some very simple adjustable arms to easily set the angle of our solar panels for best solar power production at any time of the year.

I had previously had some arms simply screwed into place for maximum summer solar power production. This means that I set the angle of the solar panels facing up to the sky more - almost flat to the sky - for summer.

But now, in the winter, I need the solar panels to be more vertical to catch the maximum solar energy with the sun lower in the sky.

I took some 2x4 lumber that I had made myself on my own chainsaw lumber mill. This is a stationary lumber mill with a track. I love this thing.


Simple-Adjustable-Solar-Panel-Racks.jpg

The lumber was waiting for just such a project. In the past I would have had to save up to be able to buy lumber for a project. Now I just make my own. This is quite awesome.

I cut the boards to a length of 36 inches each. This gives me a good adjustment or summer time, yet allows me to adjust for winter as well by pulling the arms in more.

I drilled a hole in each arm for the hinge point. A simple nut and bolt make the hinge. This gives me a very strong hinge which will not break off during bad weather or wind.

Next I drilled some holes for the pin mounts. This gives me several points to put the pins through, thereby setting the angle of the solar panels.

I had to cut and mount some scrap 2x4 pieces on the 4x4 posts of the solar panel racks which will hold the pin in place for the adjustable arms. This also makes everything line up nice and straight.

I got one solar panel rack finished and set it for the proper winter angle of the sun. Then I stepped back to have a look at my work. I like it.

So I made up the arms for the second solar panel rack as well and set the angle.

Now I have maximum solar powering coming in during peak winter sunlight hours.

And now I can easily adjust the solar panels for all seasons with ease. I simply pull out the pin, adjust the angle and push the pin back into the new hole.

You can watch today's video here:

While you are over there please subscribe to my daily videos and follow along as we strive to become fully self sufficient and off the grid on a budget.

You may also want to check out DIY Tube Video Community. DIY Tube is an alternative video sharing community offering full control to the channel owners.

DIY Tube offers free and instant anonymous membership. You get free video storage with unlimited minutes and number of videos.

And soon we hope to share revenue with our members once we start turning a profit. Right now members earn rewards for all activities on DIY Tube Video Community. These rewards can be used to promote your video or channel onto the homepage or saved for future conversion into cash once we set up our revenue sharing platform.

Either way DIY Tube offers freedom of speech for our channel owners along with freedom from harassment and full control over your channel.

http://www.diytube.video


DIY-Tube-Logo-tshirt-2a.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for the tip about diytube video sharing so I will check it out. Please help my friend with a generous donation as he needs a big donation for more SP rental. Please see it in your heart to help him. Thanks in advance, your friend hunnybadger.

Congratulations @thediyworld! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 comments. Your next target is to reach 4500 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

It's an important modification. It'll make a big difference

Posted using Partiko Android

Hmm. Looks like I am being censored on my own blog. Here is my previous reply:

Yes it sure does :)

Never seen that before

How does it feel being censored? Surprised you showed you sleazy lying self on Steemit again.
Merry Christmas but o wait your cult does not celebrate Christmas so why are you Ebegging on Youtube for gifts?

I also have some plans to upgrade our solar power system as soon as I have some extra funds for it, my brother had set it up for us. I am glad that Solar power is becoming more cheaper as years go by @thediyworld

Good. I hope you make it. I got these panels for 50 cents a watt long ago because they had been installed on a roof then removed. Back then these panels sold or $1,000 each retail. Now you can get them online at a dollar a watt or less. Very nice.

Hmm. Someone is censoring me on my own blog. Let me try again. Here is my reply:

Good. I hope you make it. I got these panels for 50 cents a watt long ago because they had been installed on a roof then removed. Back then these panels sold or $1,000 each retail. Now you can get them online at a dollar a watt or less. Very nice.

Merry Christmas Troy. I hope it's an exciting one this year. Get some rest though you seem a bit tired and worn. Happy solstice!

Stop threatening my little baby!! Stop the racism!

Happy solstice troy :)

It gets dark early. Being so far north I wouldn't think solar to be the best choice, especially trying to run mining rigs 24/7 with only four panels and only 3-4 hours of sunlight a day, and cloudless days too. The math doesn't seem add up. I'd say wind is the way to go but for mining crypto barely the only way to mine at a profit is to be near dirt cheap hydro.

You are correct. I only mine when the sun is shining fully and we hae extra power to burn. Only a few hours per day in winter but 8 hours in summer.

Wind is the way to go along with solar because generally when the sun is not shining its windy. Perfect combination.

January the zoning boards gets new rules and I hope to get my wind turbines up after that.

Good. I hope you make it. I got these panels for 50 cents a watt long ago because they had been installed on a roof then removed. Back then these panels sold or $1,000 each retail. Now you can get them online at a dollar a watt or less. Very nice.

The battery died and it costs 105 dollars to replace it. I am not replacing it yet though.

Do you still have the battery?

I am at risk for being censored again here for what I am about to tell you.

Have you looked into a Bedini motor or battery pulse desulfator?

Both can desulfate a lead acid battery, bringing it back into usable condition.

The Bedini motor you can easily make yourself at home using scrap materials.

I haven't been at the back of the hose to see the battery but I think it can be revived @thediyworld

Good :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

How is DIY freedome of speech? Is it like your you tube channels are? Do you do this so new viewers dont find out the truth? So you can milk all the money out of them before they learn the truth about your e-begging?

Stop harassing my family and baby!

So you don't post videos to YouTube anymore? I love how you act like two birds in the bush are worth more than a bird in the hand. You have sacrificed your YouTube audience and subscribers so you can chase wild dreams, none of which ever pan out. Then you complain that YouTube has cut your revenue. Here you are such a dullard and one of the least self-aware people I know. In the end you will get what you deserve. I pity your future.

Stop threatening my family!!!

Shut the eff up Troy. You sound like a flipping fool. I have NEVER threatened you OR your family. AND if I ever witnessed something like that I would report them to the authorities for you. If you can't answer allegations against you directly without making up lies of your own, all you are doing is proving the trolls right. Congratulations. You're making their case for them. You are unhinged, irresponsible, and someone who is clearly suffering from fits of paranoia. Grow up and deal with the fact that you're ill suited for homesteading and/or running a business on your own. Time to stop playing make-believe and time to start acting like an adult. Something you have put off for far too long.

Stop threatening my family!!!!

Keep it up, Troy. I have NEVER threatened you or your family. If you continue to claim I have, I may just have to sue you for libel. I'm only across the lake from you. Do not push me. It won't take a judge long to see you are a lunatic and I will give you a taste of your own medicine. I repeat: I have NEVER threatened you or your family. And I will protect my good name if I have to do so.

Get off my back!!!

Who is threatening your family troy? Where are these threats found? Why have you not called your sheriff to report these threats? Here is the Oscoda County Sheriff departments phone number and address in case you need it...

This is the office that covers your area of Lewiston:
oscoda county sheriff.png

Stop the racism! Stop threatening my baby! Stop threatening my family!

Troy, stop embarrassing your family. Get a job and quit trying to live off the charity of others.

Look at your name.

Look at your name.

Stop embarrassing your species Troy

Who is threatening your family troy? Where are these threats found? Why have you not called your sheriff to report these threats? Here is the Oscoda County Sheriff departments phone number and address in case you need it...

This is the office that covers your area of Lewiston:
oscoda county sheriff.png

Stop the racism! Stop threatening my baby! Stop threatening my family!

Troy, stop embarrass your family. Get some psychiatric help.

Stop the racism and stop threatening my baby!!!

Troy do you need assistance? If you feel you are being threatened then you should call:

oscoda county sheriff.png

Stop threatening my child!!!

troy please call your sheriff...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73