The Nymph: Long time no see !

in #blog5 years ago

Hi steemit family,
Nymph here once again.

I'm so terribly sorry for the being mia.
Truth is a lot as been going on and this will be a post of me rambling about that! :' D

48368117_2219366284946054_5758711877261590528_n.jpg

So, let's start with me adopting two kittens.
I always had cats growing up and my oldest cat passed away one year ago at the age of 20.
He was my life partner pretty much and it still bothers me some days, to know that he is no longer here.
And for that same reason I wasn't planning on adopting more cats so soon, specially since I already have two fluffy ones and everything has been peaceful as is.

48385074_799806460411466_8082464560797188096_n.jpg
(These are the kittens, not my fluff balls)

Adopting was actually my mother's idea and at first I was rejecting it, but a week or two later I ended up agreeing to it and we went to the fosters family's house to check on all 4 babies that were up for adoption and chose these two little nuggets. They were all brothers and sisters and since they were so attached to one another we didn't want to separate them, specially since this girl ( the light one ) has a neurological problem which makes her walking difficult, she trips a lot, does not calculate distances very well and so on and this brother loved her so much, that the decision seemed obvious. PLUS, she was the one I first fell in love with, and I'd never reject a pet due to some sort of health problem!!

48406824_1953466004958415_2283985980773892096_n.jpg

They have been with us for a month or so now and seem to be getting along just fine.

48360524_750391568658834_8742951653847597056_n.jpg

Ok, now moving on to ART, which is why you're all here for ( I think) !!!

Art wise I've been trying to study every week.
Ways of studying and understanding better how the human body moves, how much it can change due to bending, tilting , etc and steps to drawing it more easily in the future.

48412741_763919413945065_7654844130610118656_n.jpg

It's definitely a process, specially for me that already had issues with this years ago and ended up never really learning how it all works. But I'm sure that if you commit yourself to something you'll see good progress in the future.

48375969_377985009411053_2971600697151193088_n.jpg
(I made this Krampus off of one of the studies I did on heads and face angles).

On the mean time it was just me running aroud from one place to another; I searched for some tattoo studios, only had the guts to talk to a couple. I think I got an apprenticeship, now I'm just waiting on my mentor to return to Portugal so that I can see the studio, meet the other artists and plan things.

48358801_233579810677959_5565552887129440256_n.jpg

Apart from that I've been (once again) running around looking for a part-time job, because apprenticeships don't make any income at least during the first year ( it might depend on each case of course). I got an interview this past wednesday and got told yesterday that I got the job, but the position available does not make me comfortable at all and I know I would not have the skills for it, so I think I'll pass this one. I'll continue looking, sometimes it's a matter of inner love, and I'm aware that if I were to accept this job I'd be feeling miserable within days of being there.

48394788_290027458385877_2438270277017141248_n.jpg
(Got back to my sculpture, more of that soon)

I won't lie to you, the need of having to have a "regular" job again left me a bit upset. Not for the work itself because I'm a hard working person but because I usually have to cancel myself out in order to work anywhere "normal".
Unfortunately that's how my brain works, even when I know it is temporary.
But I think that when you deal with depression and anxiety you can't control feeling a certain way about something.

48417619_1618014278299980_7072579056423665664_n.jpg

But don't worry, I'm doing my best to take it easy and am looking for something better.
Can't wait to start my apprenticeship. And for an introvert I'm proud that I actually got the balls to reach out to anyone in order to get back to a craft I loved and love so dearly.

I wish you all an amazing day and thank you for reading once again.
I'll do my best to post more often. ( The kittens were taking over my studio space which is why I wasn't here at first too).

With love,
Nymph. <3

Instagram @_the_nymph

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Great post. I love your kitties and your artworks. Keep up with the good job! Don't be a stranger. 🍻

Congratulations @thenymph! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome back Nymph! Hope everything goes fine, plus... Congrats on your kittens they are beautiful ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much dear @gabeecm : D
They are so sneaky but fun to have around : ) <3

What a beautiful post ! Your cats are gorgeous and I hope the kittens will settle well <3 Love all the photos and the artwork is simply spectacular ! I hope you will post more regularly <3 You are so talented * ___ *

@veryspider are you following me at instagram ? I'm pretty sure that might be you, otherwise someone with the same username is then ._. and THANK YOU :' D
I'm trying my best to create something to share, but this time of year is the hardest for me always :' (

Thank you so much <3 ^u^

yesh that is me ! i follow you on insta :D :D :D

You sure are getting a glimpse at everything before anyone else : P
@veryspider

A nice view from nature that you have... But it's not snowing... You live in South America or Africa?

Cheers!

@robertoueti It's a view from Gulbenkian in Lisbon. A foundation that works as a museum/ center for exhibitions : ) I mentioned Portugal in this post, so Europe : D
And yes some countries have no snow even if they belong to Europe, but mine does more at the north, I live closer to Lisbon, more on the south : )

Oh, is true, sorry for my absence of attention.
As everybody in Europe taking photos in snow, I thought that every part in Europe snow, however I forgot that Spain and Portuguese have some parts that don't snow. Thanks for sharing!
Cheers!

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Ahah it's okay : ) @robertoueti.
Both Portugal and Spain have very limited snow, both more at the north : )

are you doing the human figure exercises on your own or taking classes? And welcome back, cute cat :)

Thank you @carlgnash : ) I'm following videos of an illustrator that explains everything in a very useful way, on youtube he goes by the name of Proko . : )

Congratulations @thenymph! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you once again @steemitboard : )

A lovely post! Your kittens are so sweet! I'll bet they are entertaining to have around!

Why, thank you @melinda010100 : ) they sure are, but my oldest one seems to think otherwise : D

Congratulations @thenymph! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61