ENGLISH HUB (COMMON MISTAKES - PART #2) by mr.kobby

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

English hub.png

IDENTIFYING AND RECTIFYING COMMON MISTAKES

Lets continue this previous post on common mistakes. I'm going to point out other numerous grammatical mistakes we have making in our everyday writing and conversation.

The following symbols are the keys purposely provided to open your understanding to the problems.

W ---- Wrong
C ---- Correct

11. AT | ABOUT

W: I shall expect you at about Five o'clock
C: I shall expect you at Five o'clock
C: I shall expect you about Five o'clock
NOTE: Strictly "at" applies to a definite time and "about" applies to an approximate time. Therefore, "at about" is a confusion of two "unlikes" and should be avoided.

12. ONCE | TWICE WITH (EVERY / A)

W: Kojo visits us once every year
C: Kojo visits us once a year
NOTE: Use "a" instead of "every" afterwards like "once" and "twice"

13. PULL MY LEGS | PULL MY LEG

W: You are pulling my legs. I know you are married already.
C: You are pulling my leg. I know you are married already.
NOTE: There is only one leg in this idiomatic expression meaning "to tell a lie as a joke"; or "tease". If more than one person is being teased, the idiom is best avoided. Example:
"You are teasing us. We know you are married already".
To say either: 'you are pulling our leg' or 'you are pulling our legs' would sound strange.

14. DELAY | DELAYANCE

W: I am sorry for my delayance
C: I am sorry for my delay
NOTE: Delay has same form for noun and verb. There is nothing like 'delayance ' in English Language.

15. CANNOT | BE POSSIBLE

W: It cannot be possible for you to see the doctor today.
C: It is not possible for you to see the doctor today.
C: You cannot see the doctor today.
NOTE: "Can" and "Be possible" have the same meaning, so they cannot be used together.

16. RE | AGAIN

W: I want to replay the game again.
C: I want to replay the game.
C: I want to play the game again.
NOTE: Expressions such as resist, repay with "again" serve the same purpose.

17. RAISE UP

W: Raise up your hand.
C: Raise your hand.
C: Put up your hand.
NOTE: To raise your hand is the same as "To put up your hand ". It is therefore, tautological to say "Raise up your hand".

18. WAVE MY HAND

W: I waved my hand at him
C: I waved at him
NOTE: "Wave" by itself means "to wave one's hand to attract attention or in greeting " so it is not necessary to add the words "my hand to it ". If something other than one's hand is waved, then it must be mentioned. As in:
* He was waving a paper at me. He seemed to be very angry.
* The children waved their flags vigorously.

19. BLOWING FUSE | REEKING

W: The man has drunk and he is blowing fuse.
C: The man has drunk and he is reeking.
NOTE: Reeking means "smelling strongly " so if someone drinks alcohol and smells strongly, it means he/she is "reeking ". It is therefore wrong to use the phrase "blowing fuse ".

20. TO CUT MY HAIR | TO HAVE MY HAIR CUT

W: I am going to cut my hair
W: I am going to barber my hair.
C: I am going to have my haircut.
NOTE: Also, avoid "I am going to barber my hair".

I hope you enjoyed this section of the course and also learnt something from it. Check my blog daily for updates and new topics.


Thanks for reading!


--- Reference ---
Yates Yean (1996) Master The Basics. First Edition, USA.



Sort:  

You got 100.00% upvote from Yensesa. Thank you for your continues support of Yensesa Exchange and being a member of Yensesa Residual Income

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66