Animal Encounter #5 ~ Staring contest with an Orca

in #blog6 years ago

Orca are constantly referred to as "Non-human People", its a term I frequently use in my lectures when discussing these animals - especially when you began to discuss their social structures & individual personalities. Some of the other common names orca are known as are:

Black & Whites
Wolves-of-the-sea
Killer Whales

Balena Assassina ~ where the name Killer whale comes from Spanish translation
Sea Pandas! That one is my favourite.


Locking eyes with orca is something you never soon forget. The first time it happened to me I got an entire chill through my whole body and I had this bizarre tingling feeling in my body for hours afterwards. It was an insane high that I am now without a doubt addicted to... Hence my lifestyle of travelling to the furtherest reaches of the planet to encounter these animals in their nature world.

When you do look them in the eye you learn instantly you aren't looking at something you are staring into the eyes of someone.

The last time it happened was July in 2017 when I encountered a pod of Bigg's orca (mammal hunters) cruising side by side around the Gulf Islands. Before we knew it they were hunting and were on a kill - it all happened under the water so nothing to awesome to photograph at the surface. When it became clear that were in fact "on a kill", my engines were shut off and the boat drifting to ensure they were comfortable as they shared the spoils of what I assume was a harbour seal. The older female then stuck her head out of the water looked at us and then decided to swim over to our vessel.


IMG_6426.jpg

Click on image to view full size.


She swam up and down along our 40ft zodiac, whilst on her side staring up at everyone standing and looking down at her. She got to me and froze for an instant, we locked eyes, which felt like minutes but was no more than a few mere seconds. then out of no-where her young calf popped up beside her in an explosive and more playful manner. The calf then followed her back along the vessel before moving back towards the rest of the family that were still in mid-meal behaviour.


IMG_6427.jpg

Click on image to view full size.


One guest on board was celebrating her 55th birthday that day, which I reckon was by the far the greatest present she got have ever received. Another beautiful day on the Pacific North West and another incredible and unforgettable moment with these beloved apex predators.


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Sort:  

A funny and scary experience there. I tried putting myself in your shoes in that vessel but am sure I would have pee.

Great shots and please be more careful because even the great white shark are scared of the killer whale

Nice post friend
I commented on your post because i want to be noticed
Actually, am new on the platform and my name is Given ( Donate) from USA .
I am here to post and talk about physics world , the social life and music.
I wish you follow me and check what i have for you.
Thank you

Hi,there. I am new in this social media. So we can follow each other. I also like this post. I am from Venezuela

Amazing creatures. I hope that maybe one day I will this close to them.

Have you ever got to kiss a whale and scratch its tongue? If you havent you should do it. It is life changing.

I have not. I will have to keep my eyes open for this opportunity. Thanks!

ahaha you should!

i guess i better be, so i don't miss a post from you no more :-)
follower.jpg

What species is that one who is 20 meters or more long and weighs tons? I guess it's not an orca..

there are a few whales you might be talking about. The blue whale(over 100ft) is the largest, followed by the fin whale, then sei whale and the humpback whale. All of them weigh multiple tons and each one can be close to 18-20m

omg.. those are some big ass whales. Thank for the info!

What a crazy encounter! Thanks for sharing

Good post you always post make people on steemit upvote you follow you always .. Good keep it up more bless on you

Awesome photography! Let me know if I'm able to use any of your photos for my nature show. Kind regards!

Your nature show? As long as you credit me with the photos then go for it. Id love to see some of your shows too - have you done any already?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97