Day 3 Antarctic Diaries on the M/V Island Sky

in #blog6 years ago

Talk about an early start BUT so worth it! I was up at 445am & made my way to the bridge in order to get a good lay of the land prior to jumping on a zodiac to explore the area looking for marine mammals. Before 5am I had already sighted 2 humpbacks on the starboard side of the ship and those two animals were well inside my range to interact with on a one hour zodiac excursion.


IMG_6005.jpg

The fluke of one of the humpbacks I encountered this morning at Cuverville Island.
Click image to view full size.


After lunch we headed to my favourite place to cruise on the Antarctic peninsula, which is called Neko Harbour!!! BUT there was too much ice to get to our landing site - Plan B, which was Paradise Harbour to a base called Brown’s station - Argentinian base.


IMG_6027.jpg

Click image to view full size.

Shortly afterwards, a bunch of guests took us up on our option to jump off the ship into the frigid waters, which is known as the Polar Plunge. Once we had a bunch of crazy people jump into the water, we had an amazing, delicious BBQ on our open deck to toast to an amazing and busy day!


Nothing short of a successful day!!!
And I am tired…


Well, time to get some sleep, as we have another busy day scheduled for the Antarctic Peninsula with two different sites planned and hopefully lots of wildlife encounters to be had. Stay tuned to see what we experience tomorrow.


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Sort:  

Incredible photos - I so enjoy your work and narration. What an exciting life you live. A bit scary at times, I might add - that's really cold water. Lol!

thank you! To be honest I would never have it any other way :)

Man, I want your life @thomasjmitchell . You are around some of the best wildlife there is to seen. I love to follow your blog, because you just never know what your gonna see. Your photos are wonderful and I am really enjoying them. Thanks for sharing your journey..

thank you!! I am stoked that you are enjoying my posts - the best thing about this work is simply that - you don't know what is going to happen or what I am going to see until it happens.

it seems like you are very happy, this place is the coolest place I have ever visited.


![image]()

follow me @munawir1994

very beautiful photos, I really want to go there

I hope you get the chance to go! it is unforgettable

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

Awesome fluke picture. I think to my self i wish i could be there, but I dont like the cold. Burrrrrrr. Thanks again for sharing.

Great man, sky 🗻.

Good job man...
Hello from #Venezuela

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61