Chicken Enchiladas

in #blog5 years ago

I found this recipe in Pampered Chef's Recipes from the Heart Cookbook, which I got as a gift from my mom. I like that there are not too many unusual ingredients, and the preparation is quite easy as well. I served with plain rice, but Spanish rice would probably be an even better compliment.

  • 1 can mild enchilada sauce, divided
  • 2 cups cooked chicken, chopped
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 can chipped green chilies
  • 1/2 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup Monterey Jack cheese, divided
  • 6 flour tortillas

image source

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Pour 1/2 can of enchilada sauce in an 11" by 7" baking dish. In a large bowl, combine chicken, sour cream, chilies, onions, and salt. Stir in 1/2 cup of cheese.

In a small frying pan, warm tortillas in over medium heat to soften. Spoon chicken mixture down center of each tortilla. Roll tortilla and place, seam side down in prepared baking dish.

Pour remaining 1/2 can of enchilada sauce over top of tortillas, and sprinkle with remaining 1/2 cup of cheese. Bake, uncovered, for about 30 minutes, until cheese is melted and enchiladas are heated through.

I found enchilada sauce in the "Spanish foods" aisle of the grocery store, hiding on the very bottom of the shelf, next to the salsa and refried beans. You could also make the sauce from scratch, but I decided to go the easy route. The sour cream is important in this recipe, otherwise the inside stuffing will be dry. Warming the tortillas also made it really easy to roll them, which you do simply by wrapping up one side, then the other on top of it. I used chicken that I had baked the evening before, but you can also just chop one or two chicken breasts and brown them quickly on the stove. And of course, you can leave out the green chilies, but I actually served mine with hot sauce on the side!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63642.15
ETH 3126.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87