Grilled Cheese Croutons

in #blog5 years ago

These little babies are going to the make your salad special. I can’t remember where I saw this idea, perhaps in a magazine. It was a while back though, and I just remembered the idea the other evening when I couldn’t get rid of a salad craving. I tossed fresh Romaine lettuce with cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, and grilled chicken. These croutons topped off the light meal perfectly!

A salad is an easy solution to a late night dinner, and yes, I did have a few more of those last week. I haven’t been waking up to cook (mostly because I have been waking up to study instead), but I think the prospect of being an early morning chef has made me do more planning. Just thinking ahead in the morning what I might cook in the evening reminds me to take out meat from the freezer or stop at the store before coming home for an extra ingredient. At least we still didn’t eat out at all last week!

  • 2 slices white bread
  • 2 slices cheddar cheese
  • ½ tablespoon butter
  • A pinch of dried parsley
Butter one side of the each slice of bread, and place cheese between non-buttered sides to make a sandwich. Sprinkle parsley over buttered sides.

Place sandwich in frying pan over medium heat. Brown each side to melt cheese.

Let sandwich cool for about 2 minutes. Cut sandwich to small crouton squares. Serve with your favorite salad or soup!


source

Tips

The parsley was my idea. I’m not really sure what croutons are usually spiced with, but the parsley really added a lot of flavor! Next time, I might also try fresh ground black pepper. Letting the sandwich is essential, otherwise the hot cheese will keeping gluing your little croutons back together. Grilled cheese has always been a favorite of mine, and I have made sandwiches with a great variety of different cheeses. Some forthcoming crouton ideas may be prosciutto mozzarella, ham and Swiss, or maybe even feta garlic… Yum!

Sort:  

Congratulations @titianus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98