Good Company, PBS of the internet, work, fines, etc

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

DSC_0443.JPG

It has been too long since I have posted on Steemit, as I am still fighting off, as @robrigo put it, the "siren song" of Facebook, and My life is ultra busy. As you might have seen, if they are mutual friends of yours, I have been visited by @matt-a, @kotturinn, @robrigo, and @broester for the past couple of weeks. It has been nice to have a house full of life and noise and laughter. They conversation has been really inspiring, and I hope they'll come back for many more visits and to build things here locally.
IMG_20170727_190143_625.jpg

One of the most important things that we discussed was the inaccessibility of internet service here in the mountains. While debate over the content of the internet and it's uses and misuses are being discussed in the more populated parts of the world, access to the internet here in the mountains is still an issue. We discussed the possibility of a "mesh" type infrastructure, which I don't know much about, but it sounds promising, and I pondered, with my limited knowledge of technology, the possibility of a public-access type internet for small communities that had content that was deemed relevant, necessary, and useful and excluded the fluff and all of the internet we know so well.

I don't know if such a thing as a "PBS of internet" is possible, but I like the idea. Maybe it would require a dedicated device or something to access it, but i could see an ad-free, resourceful, user-respectful, and publicly funded/governed form of internet that allowed people to do what is essential on the internet like find jobs, network, manage finances, get educated, keep up to date with news from a non-corporate source, etc. What do you think? Am I so naive that it hurts? Can you educate me? Knock the edges of my thinking? tell me it is already happening elsewhere? crush it completely?

Anyway. . . We kciked off our first Show of the Season with my job, We had a symphony outdoors... Here I am taking a picture.
received_10155527677245917.jpeg
And here's a doddle I done sitting at the table for the event.
IMG_20170729_191214_009.jpg

I have been working around the Music store more, you can learn more about that project by looking at some of my past posts. I am considering that it might be a good idea to make a separate account for each of the major projects I am pursuing.

I missed a whole week of work recently to attend "Mountain Music School" at Mountain empire community college, here I am on stage.

me on stage mms.jpg

Here's my cool teacher, Martha Spencer, who is in the Whitetop Mountain Band with a bunch of her family in North Carolina
DSC_0488.JPG

Also I got a hair cut from the local barber who has been cutting hair in the same place for over 40 years. I was afraid he was gonna butcher me, but I was pleased with the outcome.
haircut.jpg

In other news, My car is acting up, back tires are bald, and I have a 200 dollar fine to pay. But it will all be okay, as long as i keep hustling, like when I went to the scrap yard the other day, and got a disappointing 9 dollars and ten cents for two old washing machines. I kept the electric motors out of the machines because the scrap yard i went to quit giving you extra for them.
IMG_20170801_131003_957.jpg

Oh yeah, there is going to be an eclipse soon that will be 95 percent visible from my house! I will try to capture it if I can. . .

Love from the summer heatwave surf,
Tommy In The Sun

Sort:  

I think it would be cool to do tokenized internet access where you load a balance of INTERNET tokens to an account to pay for your service. You could issue the INTERNET token using a platform like Bitshares, and create accounts on the Bitshares blockchain that are used to authenticate to the network. The tokens could be obtained in many ways (giveaways, payment, volunteering labor, etc.) from the Appalachian Meshnet Cooperative that has deployed the network.

nice post Tommy! Good to see you back in the community, mate!
You are a great writer, and I would like to see more from you.

I heard the govener made it a state intiative to get fiber optics to eastern Kentucky , because it is as important to have proper internet availability through fiber optics in the digital age , as well as it was for roads to be built during the industrial age ....and hopefully that outcome will create more jobs ......great post by the way brother ! We've missed you on here

There are a lot of lines already laid, but there is no service. I don't know about the jobs things, in some ways I think our society is preoccupied with creating "jobs" that we forget was is valuable and end up not getting meaningful work done. Also, these lines, wouldn't the service still be owned and controlled by exterior entities. Maybe I just live in Bummersville, USA.

I feel ya brother, and your absolutely right !but even darkness has its teachings , and in place's like were we reside, eventually something greater than we could ever imagine will spawn, because salvation for the people in our local area is becoming more and more of a hot topic , it's just a matter of time before the right people put the pieces together, and the wheels of success starts rolling again . Through out history people have always had to improvise in desperate situations in order for the people to not only survive but thrive , and so i feel this forgotten poverty stricken community will eventually rise beyond it's former glory , and evolve something new all together........already i see it in motion with people like matt, rob yourself ,an jess , who steadily seek new ways for their selves and others, to prosper in life, not only financially but spiritually . We got a great circle of great minds i wouldn't doubt that we would be the cause of that revolution. Im expecting eventual change soon, our voices cant be silenced forever

Hey!

I am trying to figure out, what in hell is written on that school table?! And i must admit that i have no clue. All i can understand is Flight of a chicken and even that doesn't make much of a sense! :D

BTW: Love the view from your balcony. Pure nature 100%. And if i look out of my balcony, all i can see are apartment buildings and houses :/ Luckily for me, the nature is not far, but it's not as close as you're having it :)

You think so?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75