Round on the Ends and HI in the Middle

in #blog4 years ago

The forever journey continues:

  1. Illinois
  2. Minnesota
  3. Norway
  4. Arizona
  5. Maine
  6. Ohio—it’s true, we are officially living that Ohio life as of March 19th.

Things I knew about Ohio before moving here:

• It’s the birthplace of Jeffrey Dahmer (sidenote: if you haven’t watched the movie My Friend, Dahmer- it’s a must). You can thank my girls, Karen and Georgia, for all my true crime knowledge (MFM Podcast- you’re welcome).

• Jerry Springer (yes, that Jerry Springer), was the Mayor of Cincinatti for a year. This is one of my FAVORITE Ohio facts- Jerry! Jerry! Jerry!

• It’s the birthplace of aviation- shoutout to the Wright brothers!

So, as I know you’re all thinking, what more encouragement did I need to move my ass to the state that’s round on the ends and hi in the middle? Not much—that’s for sure. The plan initially was to move from Maine at the end of May/early June. I had submitted my resignation from my job in February, before this COVID explosion really ramped up. Well, now my job was moving remotely and getting stuck in Maine if shutdowns became more strict was increasingly on my damn mind. My partner and I decided doing the move early was probably the best call with everything going on. So, what did I do?

…….

I packed up my entire life from the last 4 years of living in Maine in the span of 18 hours and Tom and I were on the road to our new home. Let me say again what happened for those that think they’re not handling this COVID stuff well…
I panicked. Cried a little. Got a hitch attached to my car. Rented a UHaul. Packed for 18 hours. Didn’t sleep. Put my pup in the car. Headed for the big OH.

I left without saying a proper goodbye to some of the most wonderful people I’ve ever met in my life- friends I will have forever. This is still something that makes my heart hurt a bit- especially with the amount of love and support they’ve given me the past 4 years I lived in Maine. But, I know I will get back there to give a proper goodbye once we can safely travel again.

I can honestly say that it has been one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. It has certainly been challenging and has shoved me pretty far outside my comfort zone- but I followed my heart and my entire being knew it was time for my next step. My next step in life and in my career. I had no idea it would be Ohio, but I knew it would be an adventure- and that is has most definitely been.

For those of you that don’t know- I work in residence life in higher education. This means that my entire job is essentially working with students that live in residence halls on college campuses—something that isn’t really a thing right now due to COVID. This also means that jobs in this field are extremely scarce since colleges and universities don’t know if opening residence halls in the fall is going to be feasible. So, now…I’ve moved all the way to another state and my current job will be done the last day of May. I’ve also just torn a couple ligaments in my ankle last week and will know next week if I need surgery and/or rehab. Goodbye daily quarantine walks!

Changes galore!

The good news? Well, not to be cliché but I am learning SO much about who I am and what I want out of life. I’ve had nothing but time to think about what I want to do and where I want my next step to be. Has this been trying- absofuckinglutely. But, it has brought me more good than bad. It has reconnected me with my love for writing and reading. It has reminded me how much I love to bake and cook. I finally painted a ladder shelf I’ve had for 7 years and, hot damn, painting something seriously changes the aesthetic of your home. Try that shit out!

Not being able to get around as easily in my boot and crutches has reminded me to think about people that have lifelong disabilities. It’s helped me to realize how lucky I am to have a man that loves me and wants to help me through these transitions in my life- even if sometimes that means listening to me cry and be less than rational about my current situation. This quarantine has pushed some buttons and it will continue to do so- but, it can’t have me. I get to decide how I handle things and my degree of happiness. And holy shit am I happy. I don’t have a job prospect (and I’m sensitive AF about that because my career is SO important to me). I don’t know what the future holds in getting my ankle back to normal. I don’t know if I’m gonna put my bra on tomorrow. But, I do know that I am smart. I am creative. I am motivated. I am deeply in love. I will keep growing and pushing myself towards my goals. And YOU can too! Don’t let this quarantine decide what your life is- you get to decide that.

Things i've learned about Ohio since becoming its favorite resident:

• It has the Worlds Largest Basket- yep, y’all jealous? Here we are appreciating the shit out of it

largest basket.jpg

largest basket1.jpg

• It also has the Longaberger basket, which to my chagrin, is not the worlds largest basket (thank heavens they are very close to each other or my surprise adventure for the fam would have been far less exciting).

Longaberger basket.jpg

What’s with the basket theme? It was Easter and I was feeling spontaneous- google really delivered when I searched “weird places to visit in Ohio”.

• They are some 4-wheeling lovin’ people! I went for the first time and am not gonna lie, I dig me some mud.

4wheeling.jpg

• It is a pretty beautiful place if you take the time to look around and appreciate it

farm.jpg

bench.jpg

blue house.jpg

I can’t wait to do more exploring once the quarantine is lifted and my ankle has healed!

Get in your car and go for a drive while listening to an audiobook or your favorite music. Take a walk with your pup. Read a new book or write your first blog post. Or, take a nap and cuddle on the couch with a good movie. We will, of course, have better days than others- and you should always allow yourself to feel what you’re feeling- but once you allow it to be felt, you move right along. Get up tomorrow and do what you’ve been meaning to do.

Stay Steemy! :)

Sort:  

I am jealous!!!! Welcome back!

Thanks beautiful cousin @susanne !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.06
ETH 3737.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64