Corneal abrasion sucks

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

1280px-Human_cornea_with_abrasion_highlighted_by_fluorescein_staining.jpg

I planned to make a small post for whatever but my corneal abrasion decided to fucking break my balls (originally happened about 2 years ago) so I will rest my eyes instead. It likes do so every a few months, out of the blue, rest is the only thing to make it go away but if you have any tips I would gladly hear them.

In case you wonder, it happened when my baby nephew decided to poke me eye. His nail scratched a small piece of my eye surface.

Photo credit and more info about corneal abrasion: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corneal_abrasion

Bye

Sort:  

Περαστικα :)

Sorry to hear about that dear. Hope you go for check-ups regularly? Don't have much experience or Knowledge about how to treat it so I feel you should seek professional advice as often as you can.

Take care

Nah, its nothing special to need regular check ups. It's just an annoying chronic condition that takes a few years until it totally goes away. It used to annoy me almost once every week a year ago, no it flares up once every a couple of months. :)

Been there done that huge! Do you know that if you move one eyeball, the other one follows, even if it's patched? Do you know that if one eyeball retina reacts to light, the other one does, even if it's patched? Yep.

Fyi if I sleep in too dry of a house or under a fan, I have huge issues. Abrasions being the extreme's extreme and wrinkled eye "skin" (surface) that causes blurred and double vision being the low end. I use at least coconut oil up on the eyeshadow spot to help moisturize my eyeballs. Currently using CBD oil. It gradually seeps into the eye socket. Be highly selective. Really cannot recommended cinnamon oil, for example. :-D

Yeah I know from experience :P. I have to close both eyes in a dark room for an hour to actually feel any better! And my doc actually told me no patching as new data has indicated that patching doesn't help at all and even indicate it might make it worse!

Yeah I was mischievous laughing the whole time I wrote. There is no way you couldn't know. It's instinctive to try to cover the wounded eye with a hand and try to see with the other eye. I well remember being curled up in a ball in a dark room for three days BEFORE I was even willing to attempt to leave the house. It was a 3 day weekend, too. But the eye is amazing to try to heal itself very well. Half way through the first day, I could tell it was improving. So I was perfectly content to avoid ER and all light! I only really went to the doc to get a sanity chec. As I suspected she would, she prescribed a precautionary antibiotic just because I was still on a long healing journey. It was 3 weeks before she was happy with the way the eyeball looked.

Smart doctor's haven't patched eyes for stuff like this since at last 1978 when my little 6 week old daughter hit her own eye with her fingernail. They weren't even an extreme length. The eye doc said it happens all the time. I personally crawled up and grazed my dad's eye. He said it was the worst physical pain of his life. He didn't tell me though until my daughter reminded him.

So truly. Nothing but empathy from me. Well and a little bit of sick humor. Itty bitty bit.

Oh it goes without saying but, deepest empathy to you!

Shut your eyes if you're not going to swallow!

I always swallow. ALWAYS!

Oh that must irritate so damn hard, any chance of full recovery or is it for life?

Posted using Partiko Android

It depends on the case I guess. Over the last two years, it has very slowly but steadily gone better. It used to annoy once every week during the first month after the initial injury, now it's once every month or two. Also the pain during each episode much less annoying and takes less time of rest until it feels better.

So I guess at some point it will be 100 % healed . Unless my nephew decides to poke my eye again :)

Get well soon :)

Oh and by the way:

FUCKKKKKKKKK

You need to see an optometrist for proper treatment, but general rule of thumb is lubricating eye drops, that should help you out. You may be able to get some that have a pain killer in it, which is just a very low dose of lidocaine. To get the pain relief stuff that's really good, you need to see a doctor to prescribe it to you.

I saw one right after my injury 2 years ago. I was told to use "thealoz dry eye" drops. They are expensive but damn, they work like magic compared to the cheap regular eye drops.

Yeah, eyedrops are one of those things you can't cheap out on.

Hi @trumpman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.270 which ranks you at #741 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 8 places in the last three days (old rank 733).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #211.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you bot <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00