Accept Information, Evaluate, Then Act

in #blog6 years ago

The power of being calm.

There's something powerful in the capability of remaining calm. It allows you to receive information without giving a reaction. This allows you to evaluate this information before acting, before writing your part into history. Today I was returning to my college town, from my home town. On the way, my ladyfriend and I were having different conversations. Sometimes, she may be suggesting to me, but she would say that she didn't want to offend me. She would then say what needed to be said. The power of remaining calm is something that I will always work harder for, because in that moment I had some clarity. I was capable to strategize my next action in my life, free of emotion.

That's the power of detachment.

My brothers, father, and I would sit on our porch when I was younger. We would watch the cars pass on the road; we live in the country so the frequency isn't that high. Remaining calm allows you to sit back and look at your emotions as if they're cars passing one at a time, on a nice, relaxing, sunny day.

Seeing yourself in third person allows you to look at your life through a different view, a different life if creative enough. I often picture myself traveling to class as a character in a video game. I'll imagine I am the controller of this little character in this generated world around me. Walking around, watching this character in third person. Enter buildings, socialize, listen, think, basically sims. Its actually a really enjoyable activity. This means that the game I am in must be negligible to the world that the actually player is in, me. Hm.

This perception may not work for everyone, I'm simply sharing some exercises I enjoy practicing. Learning to detach on the spot when needed is an extremely powerful skill. It brings clarity of mind and more agile, precise thinking. A professional athlete can't get reactive when the clock is down, and the score is needed to win. A solid lawyer can't go through a flawless court session without allowing themselves to be clear minded and open minded. I know that me remaining calm allowed me to process the information that my lady was trying to transmit. If I couldn't well, there are two people in a peer 2 peer communication.

Other Ways?

Street fights, for shizzle. But for real, any situation that needs to be taken seriously. All extremely severe accident should be handled in a calm manner. When a car is losing control, if the driver remains calm they are increasing their chance to recover control. Surgery gets a little tricky if the doctor is freaking out, won't work out man.

There's so much more to it than that. Clarity of mind is so huge, at least it is for me.

MIND - FUL or MIND - LESS.

Mindfulness is all about being in the moment and being in touch with your external and internal environment. Remaining calm is a powerful tool that directs somebody toward being mindful. We get to choose, but we must practice and train. As any master started, we must train from the beginning, as pupils. The first step is recognition. I have been recognizing patterns in my mind for weeks. Have I been able to alter them fully? Could I if I worked at it extremely hard? Of course. That's because I would fill my mind with the thoughts needed to alter these patterns. If I have less than is needed, in my mind, it won't happen. This is science. Neural Pathways transmit electrical signals that ignite certain clusters that contain active thoughts. An example of neural cluster triggers: A can trigger B, C, E, F; B can trigger C, E; D can trigger Z, M; So forth.

That cluster needs to kindle. It needs to burn a little all day long baby. Allllll day. That's the power of changing your patterns, and it starts with remaining calm. In order to do so, first acknowledge reactions and work toward one at a time.

What kind of reactions have you given that have surprised you? Are there any moments that you are proud of for remaining calm? Comment below with any statements or questions!

Upvote with Love

D͇o͇ ̶n̶'̶t̶ ̶E̶v̶e̶r̶ ̶Q̶u̶ i͇t͇ Steeming Hooligans!

Sort:  

I've been thinking about this sometimes. Often, when I get in a stressed situation (although I don't often get in a stressed situation), I just remember that in most cases, nothing has actually physically changed since the last time I was in a more peaceful situation. It's mostly just emotions and ideas. When I realize this, I find it really hard to actually get stressed.

On a just slightly related note, I became fascinated about how weekends feel so different from week days, even if I in the weekend sometimes wake up after school would be finished on a week day. The rest of the day is technically the same, but the fact that I remember being at university earlier that day completely changes my feel of the day.

I really enjoyed your write-up.

Grounding yourself to reality is a powerful thing. Its relieving knowing the only thing you must do is survive. The weekend thing is also quite interesting! Our brains do weird things, but we must do it first in order for it to do it again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70971.83
ETH 3830.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.41