Aesthetics

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

We continue where we left off in my “En Route” post.

Driving through flurries of snow, we made our arrival to the shoot location.

Walking upstairs with our hands full, we reached the top and drifted into the beautiful Oscar Wilde grand suite. I was in a dream. This room was absolutely stunning! I made mental notes, trying to figure out how I could replicate this look in my own bedroom. There wasn’t much time to sit and enjoy the space so I filmed what I could.

“You can never be overdressed or overeducated.”

Thanks to a GQ fashion icon interview, every time I think of Oscar Wilde I think of Ezra Miller. He’s such a fascinating character. I’ve included a link to the video above.




What goes through my mind on set...

  • Look up the list of priorities to be photographed
  • Steam the looks right before a wardrobe change
  • Quick set designs and adjustments with props
  • Communicating the time and keeping everyone on track
  • On stand by to...
    • Help model dress and undress
      • Keeping the area clean with each outfit change.
    • Hold a lamp or hold curtains open
    • Smooth out wrinkles as the model changes poses
    • Ensuring that the zippers and seams line up where they should
    • Tucking in undergarments like bras so it doesn’t distort the neckline of each piece.
    • Taming the hair to minimize flyaways, frizz or fluffing it up.

You must be light and swift on your feet...

Production shoots and events run smoothly when you’re able to act quickly with little direction. @kommienezuspadt and I have worked side by side for so long now that little words are exchanged. He’ll ask me to be on standby, I’ll jump in and out of frame, making adjustments to the slightest detail as he’s snapping photos. We share similar tastes but both of us view the image from different angles. We’ll discuss the design, the light and suggest poses as we move alongside the model. So far this working relationship has worked to our advantage.





At the end of the day, we left feeling mentally drained but fulfilled. It was a very successful shoot and I even got paid which was pretty cool since I wasn’t planning on it.


Thanks for reading. 🦊

Sort:  

Hello @vermillionfox, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Working forever with someone has advantages like that XD and efficient teams are usually sought after right ;D

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Hey, hope you are having a nice day!

We stopped by to invite you to participate in the "B&W Photography contest", "'Dream' -- 100 words free writing contest", and "Food Photography #2 contest", and win prizes worth 18 Steem!

Try 1Ramp Android or Web to easily participate in the contests or host your own.

Cheers!

I LOVE that room. And I love Oscar Wilde.

I'm glad it all works out. Good job for completing that challenging day successfully :).


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33