What if we start thinking like kids and act like adults?

in #blog6 years ago

KID OF THINK LIKE A KID.jpgDoes any one here feel lost when it comes to technology? I do! Am I allowed to say that I don’t like technology? I acknowledge that the innovation of technology has allowed many accomplishment and advancement in our society. Thanks to technology, we can now have platform like Facebook, Steemit, twitter, … where we can connect and share ideas with people in other part of the world. It is just hard to familiarize myself with technology. Maybe because I did not really grow with computer and other devices we now have.

One day I decided to break that barrier and to learn more about computer. So I sat in front of my computer, my phone close by, I started to explore and learn features that I never touched. Nevertheless, I quickly felt bored and scared to press a key that could mess up my computer. Without even realize it I shifted from learning computer language to reading a journal article that was not related to computer at all.
As I was reading, my two years old son came and sat on my lap. He reached to the table to grab my phone. I took it and put it back on table, far way from him. He managed to take the phone again. I got it back and placed it farther from where it was. He got the phone back. For my peace of I mind, I left him with the phone.

I stopped reading started watching him using my phone because I worried that he could break it. He was exploring any features, trying to figure out how things worked and was not afraid to press any button. He made trials and errors, but never gave up when he could not find an answer. In a short time, he knew how to travel down the menu. I was mostly impressed by his approach of handling and solving problems. For example each time he could not figure how an apps functions, he would go back to the menu, start the process all over again until he find his way; and he did it diligently.

Observing my son that little moment make me think of my own experience with computer and I thought: wouldn’t be great if I could think like a kid and act like an adult, this also reminds me of a quote from Pablo Picasso which state: “every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once we grow up”.

That little moment helped me to realize that in contrast to adult, children are not afraid to step out and learn. They move with determination, they don’t give up even if they have to start all over again. They will make trials and error, but they will also learn from their mistakes. Moreover, they stay open to new venues.
On the other hands, we, adult are so confortable in our zone. We have created a routine and familiarize ourselves with living style that it is difficult to break, or I should I say we don’t want to break. I do not by anyway mean that we should not have a routine because it is what gives us sense of control, productivity and more. However what I mean is: we should step out of our comfort zone, explore new things, stay resilient and bring out that inner child of us.

Reference:
The image was taken from https://pixabay.com/en/laptop-internet-computer-technology-3130478/

Sort:  

Nice article, my kids are constantly teaching me how little I know about the world

Definitely, Thank you very much!

This is a good article. You're most welcome here on steemit and ill be following your postings.

Thank you for introducing me to steemit, I am looking forward to have fun!

Yes indeed, you'll have fun, build a new network-community and earn $$$

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64