Burned out much?

in #blog6 years ago

What I like to do when this feeling comes


I really try and listen to what my head and heart are telling me, I try very hard to push through and ignore these thoughts but than it hits me like a ton of bricks. Maybe I should take a break? I am feeling this way right now and as you can see my idea of a break is more work, I tell myself it's not really work if I just write what I am feeling. I like to rationalize my thoughts and emotions to keep busy, It's always been very hard for me to just sit still. I told myself just write what you feel and than when you're done....

  • Shut off the computer
  • Get a bowl of ice cream with strawberries and chocolate drizzled over the top
  • Find something good to watch on netflix
  • Leave my phone at out of arms length to avoid looking at anything on Steemit or Discord
  • Take a deep breath and remind myself it's ok to relax

What usually ends up happening


  • I plug my phone in so it can reach the couch but I use it only during boring parts of the show/movie
  • I end up staying up later than I normally would because I feel energized after the break and work more
  • I think about all the things I need to get done the next day and end up constantly rewinding parts I miss by daydreaming
  • Refill the ice cream bowl and start it all over again.
  • Second attempt on the phone the whole time

Things I'm grateful for


  • Having Steemit and Discord to keep me busy in my down times
  • Having so much down time to not have to make time for it
  • All the great people I am meeting
  • Hope for the future of Steemit the more I use it and Discord members that push me when I feel doubtful

I am constantly reminding myself to not take myself too seriously, I don't need to set my standards so high that I can't achieve my goals and leave time for rest and relaxation and time to reflect on what I have been doing.

I have been doing pretty good with this but there is always room for improvement, I like to focus a good amount of my time on curating and helping in my discord and this helps to take the focus of myself for a good enough amount of time to realign my goals.

I hope I get a chance to meet some of you in my discord to help me keep myself busy focusing on my own deal. I am around quite a bit and do get notifications on my phone to distract me during the day. I vow to ignore you while I am eating my ice cream tonight though so don't be offended, feel free to come by the discord and say hello and tell me about yourself and join my #postpromotion with lots of other great people sharing great quality content. Thanks for your support and kindness!



Steemit logo

Discord




@Vladivostok

Sort:  

damn, the answers to what would jesus do is found on steemit

HaHa...great comment @vicspics !! If there is anything I can help you with my Son, I hear all Steemit Prayers.

and all tributes are appreciated too, i'm sure....oh vladivostok, hear our prayer

😂 I love it man,,, thanks for added some great laughs ... this is one of my main goals.. to make more room in my life for laughter and having fun. Appreciate you helping me make some room tonight

HAHAHHAHAHA this comment caught my attention

@Vladivostok Thank you for this! Reading it was like a breath of fresh air :) I too have been struggling with burnout on Steemit. I have to admit that I have been noticing it has been occurring more frequently these days. One of my biggest goals now have been trying to teach myself to become more efficient not only with my time but with becoming proficient with all these presently overwhelming but necessary steemit tools :)

Sounds like we are experiencing the same exact thing. Steemit offers a learning curve like nothing else I have ever tried to master. It’s overwhelming and the tools available simplify things but learning the endless amount of the tools takes a lot of time and brain power. Managing time is essential if we plan to maintain a life outside of steemit. I sure hope we can both pull it together and get a balance that works. If you’re on discord come by and say hi, maybe we could share some ideas that would help both of us, I find discord to be a great tool but again it’s time consuming.

This sounds very much like the effect of the full moon and the eclipse of the blood moon this week!
So many influential astrological aspects for this weekend!

Hold on tight! Sparks are going to fly, emotions will be stirred! But I guess you are quite safe! You have the protection of delicious ice cream!
Make sure you don’t run out of ice cream over the weekend!!

Making some changes too so this is having an effect, slightly negative at the moment but my wife has already suggested more ice cream 🍨

Very wise!
What could you do without the lovely wife!
Lucky you!

It is good that you realize how important relaxation is, there are so many people that overlook it. I know it may be hard and phones/computers are crazy distracting but turning it off can be so liberating!

I also think that curating is awesome and just what Steem needs! Those that take the time to support and share solid original content is what makes Steem so great and it is what attracts such talented authors to this platform!

Thanks for sharing @vladivostok and @vicpics is right... now we all know "what would Jesus do"

He would chill, eat some ice cream and watch some Netflix. I shall spread the word! hahaha

Follow and an upvote from me!

Isn't it amazing that our bodies tell us to take a break, but our mind tells us to keep going. Like you in the post above, I will decide to take a break from everything and just enjoy the day, but the next moment I am working on the things I wanted to take a break from. This is when I grab a surfboard and head out into the ocean. I cannot check my phone or computer while in the ocean...this is when I truly relax. However, you better believe that once I get out of the water I am heading inside and checking all of my devices for messages, etc. I'm thinking about making ice-cream with strawberries covered in chocolate today. I have no clue how this thought has come into head. Lol. Enjoy your Netflix and ice cream my friend. Put the phone down and quit looking at this reply...just relax!

very true, my body is telling me the same thing tonight...I wish I liked surfing, i have always liked the idea of it but never did it enough for it to be enjoyable, i was always a skimboarder but that never did too well at relaxing me :)

Wow, this was definitely an enjoyable read. I definitely can relate to some of these points, especially since I've been setting unrealistic goals, only to get disappointed and demotivated when I don't reach it. I think meditation helps, I've been making it more of a habit recently and although it isn't easy, I can see it definitely makes a difference in my day to day interactions with people.

meditation never did anyone any harm, I think setting smaller goals that lead to a bigger goal works good for me
glad you can relate

I'm sure that ice cream is very delicious, so you can not be disturbed while enjoying a bowl of ice cream

ice cream is always delicious, you may try and disturb me if you wish, it's your choice to see if you get ignored :)

keep following your goals and having set goals and a drive is that will push you to achieve your dreams !! keep going : )

Nice photography

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61054.53
ETH 2976.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65