Out @Sea

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

One more journey out to sea and I'm done for good..



My Russian Grandpa (My Wife's Grandpa) told me he is retired the first time we met and this is when I learned how much we are alike. He has 20 years on me but our personalities are very similar, It wasn't until I met him in person that I truly understood how my Wife could even put up with me. Neither one of us can sit still for one minute unless there is food or something good to drink, of course unless we are very interested in something it's impossible to spend our days invested 100%. He is an avid fisherman and works on international fishing vessels departing from Vladivostok RU, and is in charge of refrigeration and keeping the catch valuable. This does not stop him from being on deck and partaking in catching his fair share, is his prey.



george4.jpg


You may think from this photo that he will be taking all the food for himself, but he is a truly generous person and will gladly share his catch.


There is always plenty of down time on the ship for enjoying the benefits of your work and having a good time, this is really hard work and requires time away from the family and lots of sacrifice. Nobody is complaining that there is down time and it's time to enjoy the fresh caught lobster but will quickly clean up the deck and get back to business as usual.

The thick white clouds hide where you're going and where you've been but the eye is always on the prize and the Captain is hard at work charting and following the treasures of the sea. While at home he dreams of being out at sea and while at sea dreams of being home with family and creature comforts we have all grown accustomed to, there is no middle road for a fisherman, my Grandpa is all in.

Vladivostok RU is an amazing city that will capture your heart similar to the way these lobsters are captured on this ship. I was lucky to have my heart captured but to remain uneaten, I consider this city my home and even when I am away I dream about being there, when I am in Vladivostok I rarely dream of America, In fact I dream in Russian when I am where my heart calls home.

I hope you enjoy this blog about my Grandpa as much as I enjoy him being my Grandpa. He is a hard working guy and would give you the shirt off his back, It may smell like fresh lobster but he will still give it to you. If you are ever far east and want to travel to a place unlike any other in the world, Vladivostok is the place.

george7.jpg

Photos courtesy of Grandpa



Steemit logo

Discord




@Vladivostok-CA

Sort:  

It is very nice of you to write about another person in such good terms. It speaks volumes of your grandpa.
By the way, I visited Russia a few weeks ago for some WorldCup games and I was very impressed with the country in general. One day I will be in Vladivostok.

Most people don't think of Russia as such a great place, they believe what they see in the movies and propagandist but it's a really great place. Glad you got to go watch the games, I do hope you get to Vladivostok....Maybe you will run into my Grandpa and eat some smoked Vladivostok Salmon!!

Hello @vladivostok I am very impressed with your post.

thanks, follow and resteem!! appreciate your support :)

wao very interesting your publication, count on me, and I invite you to visit my profile and have your support

thank you, I am glad you like it...Thanks for the support

Thank you, I am glad you liked it.

This is amazing post
I like ut very much
Thanks

You got a 58.77% upvote from @upme thanks to @vladivostok! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

It is such a nice place and journey is very because its refreshes our mind encourages to live life tension free make our mind like floating on the sky so please support me and I will upvote u back

Yes, Vladivostok and St Petersburg have always been in my mind since I was at school! There are so many connections and untold stories about past Thai monarchy and the Tsar! One of my friend’s relatives has a Russian great grandmother who was connected to the royalty. The mystery always fascinated me!

Your story about your grandfather was very adventurous! I think people from older generations seem to have more energy and what it takes to have a full life!!

Cheers.

I bet you had an amazing time out there. I appreciate people who spend their time with grandparents.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39