White collar worker - Blue collar Mentalilty

in #blog6 years ago

What would the world be like with no "workers"



The world need workers just like workers need the world. I have a few white collar jobs but I really identify as a blue collar worker, I get very little satisfaction a white collar days work but If I am working on a physical project I am fully satisfied at the end of the days work. I wonder if I would be satisfied doing physical work for my income? Today I power washed the property and this all started by cleaning my bird's cage.
I had to push myself to get started knowing it's been begging to be done for a while. Whenever I am sitting at my desk doing white collar work I am not real excited to start but the monetary reward will eventually get me working. I like monetary rewards but I also like the reward of getting a physical job done and seeing the results than enjoying the finished product. I think Romeo is happy about the cage but a part of me feels like he is angry at me for cleaning up the mess that he has been so busy working on for some time now. This is much more healthy and gives the opportunity to put new toys up and rearrange his perches a bit. I really did this job quickly, more quickly than the last time as I am getting better at it.

Once I pulled the cage outside on my patio to clean it I decided in my head since I had the power washer out I would be cleaning the whole property. I had to go buy gas/petrol at the station and get the power washer going to make sure It was going to start up and once it did, I began my process. I removed all the toys from the cage and pulled the cage to the porch and sprayed the cage down with F10 (veterinary disinfectant) and let is soak in a bit and started up the power washer. The difficult part of cleaning the cage is that there is very little room once this huge cage is on the porch, there are two doors in the cage and I have to use these doors to go downstairs, in one door and out the next and than I can access my staircase. It's a real pain and this is the part of the process that keeps me from starting. I got the cage looking really nice and put back in place, I still need to add some new toys for Romeo's enrichment but I was really happy I got it done, next I started on the property. I showed a finished photo of the back of the property, basically a driveway between the main home and the duplex in the rear and everything is always so dirty, I could do this once a week and it would still need cleaning.

I power washed all the dirt down the driveway and into the gutter waiting for tomorrows street sweeper. I wish I could power wash this ugly building next to me into the gutter, I really hate this monstrosity and feel like my whole world is a stage to a three tiered audience of inconsiderate people. I have to admit that I am more of an audience than they are, my favorite spot on the porch gives me a direct view of the late night drama, drunken fights and banter, the parties, the visitos and more. This is like my reality show but in reality, I like to sit on the porch and drink a cold one and play with my phone until I hear something that peaks my interest. Yes, I am probably a really annoying neighbor since I am the neighbor that doesn't miss a damn thing that is going on, but if there is trouble or someone needing help I am also the first to respond. Of course they dislike me because I am nosy but when the time comes for me to assist them they understand I am not just a jerky neighbor ready to pounce but also more friendly than the average person, if I do say so myself.


The back space always gets really dirty because the alley way is there and nobody cleans the alley, they just dump their unwanted household items and furniture and take out their trash. Dirt collects back here and attracts insects and god knows what else, so it's good to clean the fence and clear out all the dirt. I rarely ever go back here but there are new tenants that moved in last month and I wanted to make it nice and clean for them. I ran out of cleaner so this did not come out as clean as I had hoped but I am not going to be a perfectionist about this because nobody even complained that it was dirty and they probably won't even notice I cleaned it. I feel like people around me are oblivious, or maybe I just care too much and notice everything.


The side walk way turned out really nice and I love the way the sun is shinning in, the table and chairs with the funky art deco is sitting in a really cool spot to enjoy the work I did, the tenants never bothered to clean this walk way and it was looking really bad, now it looks very good to my eye and a better place to sit and relax and enjoy the sun. So I feel really good getting this work done, I didn't even take these photos for a Steemit blog but merely to show a friend what I was doing, than I was inspired to write about it. I may be wrong but I think it's interesting to read things that people do in their every day life and see photos so it's almost like they are experiencing you. It's not like I have taken you to a fine restaurant and bragged about the food I am eating, or rubbing it in by showing the great place I visited and didn't invite you to, but merely the day in the life of an ordinary Steemian.

Welcome to my world and average day cleaning, blue collar mentality at work here today and I am on a mission to make my world more comfortable. I lay in bed at night and think of projects in great detail that I would like to complete and just don't know where to start sometimes. I called a friend to come by and help me with a few things, he is coming by on Sunday to see what we can do with some upgrades I am wanting in my life.

I really appreciate it if you made it to this part of the blog, It shows me I am not sitting and writing for no other reason than to use my time and capture the moments of my life that inspire me. They may not be monumental things, but In life there is inspiration that can be obtained in the most menial tasks and I think they are worth sharing. I tend to get caught up thinking that I need to accomplish big things to feel good about the work I have done and this is the furthest from the truth, I am making a mental note to not forgot my own wise words next time I am feeling down. Thank you for your support and I would love to see you in my discord for more personal conversations. The link is in my banner and also below the Steemit Logo.

@Vladivostok





Steemit logo

Discord




@Vladivostok-CA

Sort:  

White are fresh color

Hi @vladivostok A text written specifically for you but inspiring to all.

By deciding in advance exactly what you’re going to do, and when and where you’re going to do it, there’s no deliberating when the time comes. No do I really have to do this now?, or can this wait till later? or maybe I should do something else instead. It’s when we deliberate that willpower becomes necessary to make the tough choice. But if-then plans dramatically reduce the demands placed on your willpower, by ensuring that you’ve made the right decision way ahead of the critical moment.

“Follow your passion!” or “Stay positive!” But you have the decided advantage of actually being effective – which, as it happens, is exactly what you’ll be if you use them.

The good news (and its very good news) is that you can get better about not putting things off, if you use the right strategy. Figuring out which strategy to use depends on why you are procrastinating in the first place.

Have a wonderful day
A hug

Those were really nice words, My friend. I remember my grandfather saying " Tomorrow means never ". Procrastination is a slow killer

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @hash-tag Thanks a lot for sharing your time with us and congratulations. Clear understanding of your life, this has meant a difference many times in the future.

We are all guilty of procrastinating at some point or other; no one is a stranger to it, right? Some of us might be lucky enough to identify it in time and still do something about it. Unfortunately for others, it steals dreams and can even destroy lives.

The reason we procrastinate varies from person to person and is not always obvious. Sometimes it is a hidden fear that we don’t want to acknowledge, or it could even be as simple as not wanting to do something because it just doesn’t motivate us. Whatever the reason may be, if you know you are a procrastinator, be careful: it has far more damaging effects than you may realize.

Procrastination is linked to stress and anxiety, and these in turn are linked to health issues. If your procrastination leads to feelings of depression, over time this depression will start to affect other areas of your life.

If you procrastinate too much with something, it will most likely start to stress you out and cause anxiety, especially when other people or things are involved. Studies show us more and more how damaging stress and anxiety are for us, with stress being the silent killer.

Another way that procrastination can affect your health is when you continually put off check ups, and postpone appointments or things you need to do. The problem only gets worse and the consequences more dire.

Once you recognize you have the problem and make the decision to take immediate action, you will be able to see when procrastination is creeping in and put it away and start moving towards the success you intend to have.

Have a wonderful Saturday
I wish you much happiness and success
A hug

@vladivostok it is very intersting blog.nice one.

Welcome to my world and average day cleaning, blue collar mentality at work here today and I am on a mission to make my world more comfortable. I lay in bed at night and think of projects in great detail that I would like to complete and just don't know where to start sometimes. I called a friend to come by and help me with a few things, he is coming by on Sunday to see what we can do with some upgrades I am wanting in my life.

you realize you are just writing the same thing i wrote and how annoying that is right?

Lol, Yes it is :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

interesting story nice

Get Upvotes from 350 members!

Join Our Community now.

Hello @vladivostok A content composed particularly for you yet moving to all.

By choosing ahead of time precisely what you will do, and when and where you will do it, there's no pondering when the time comes. No do I truly need to do this now?, or would this be able to hold up till later? or then again perhaps I ought to accomplish something different. It's the point at which we consider that self control winds up important to settle on the extreme decision. In any case, if-then designs drastically decrease the requests put on your resolution, by guaranteeing that you've settled on the correct choice path in front of the basic minute.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58