You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing Apart

in #blog6 years ago

Wow that was deep.....I can actually relate. Very similar situation now that I have quit drinking and "partying" and seem to havevery few friends left. The difference is I am a social butterfly! I hate being alone and was used to always having at least 1, if not more, friends around me almost ALL of the time. Now that I am sober, I feel more lonely than ever. But hey I will take that over blackouts and hang-overs anyday.

Sort:  

Absolutely with you there on blackouts @yoitsme! The health ramifications are devastating. A lot of people I went to school with are dead now. Some are homeless or committed to living life on the streets. I'm lucky. I made it out. Waking up not knowing where you are is terrifying.

What you speak on as far as being a social butterfly, holy sh-t, like I can't even imagine how much more you are affected by your lifestyle change. I am fortunately privileged and buffered by the fact that I'm not an extrovert. I'm used to withdrawing and recharging.

Having children helps, and it makes it all worth it. Don't tell my kids but, lol, sometimes Mommy wants adult friends. ;)

I agree, my daughter is the main reason I quit and the reason I stay sober cause lord knows, I sure could use a drink sometimes. I want to be around to watch her grow up and to be there when she gets married and has kids of her own one day. If I had continued to drink and fall further like where I was going, I definitely wouldn't be here. I have also had to bury many friends way too young and it was devistating. Life is too short to intentionally screw it up!
And yes, it is pretty difficult sometimes with my social life or better yet lack thereof. I definitely find myself yearning for adult conversation quite often but I guess that's what the telephone and your parents are for. 😜
Now we have STEEMIT for our adult needs!!!

I totally agree with you. And Steemit rocks. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81