You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Letter To My Dad

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

This incredibly raw, beautifully candid conveyance of a decidedly heartbreaking reality brought me to tears. I wasn't expecting that.

I don't know you, but I do, in my own way, understand the difficulty of making such an excruciating choice – of having to make that same choice, over and over again, hurting no less each time.

I appreciate your clarity – your clearly kind soul – your anguished heart, that dared to love and forgive, even when all practical logic would emphatically dictate otherwise.

Thank you for being the kind of human this world so needs more of. <3

steemit-posts-26.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you @zipporah

I appreciate your kind words, and your ability to understand. Although the choice to reunite , then later disengage, was one of the hardest and most confusing emotional roller coaster rides I have ever been on, it was crucial for my personal growth. I guess you could say I had to do it in order to accept the truth of what really was. I didn't want to believe it or face it for so many years, and right up until I was face to face with the reality of what is, and what will always be, I always thought he could, and perhaps would change.

After it was said and done, I knew I had always known. It was just something I had to face and overcome. I feel better today as a result of my decision. I have closure knowing I tried my absolute best to do the right thing, to be a good son, and give him the second chance I felt he should have, even if no one else felt the same.

Thank you for reading, and thank you for your heart felt comment.

Of course – there was no way I could be so moved by something and not respond in kind.

Accepting the difficult choice is really what the journey is all about, I believe. Often, the choice is razor thin – the chasm between so seemingly vast. And yet, once you arrive in that moment of knowing, following through feels almost absurdly simple. I commend you for being present enough to know you'd reached that juncture.

You and your imaginary friend can't count a new, very sincere friend amongst those you can lean on, should you ever find yourself grieving...as you very well may. <3

Haha, crazy how @imaginary-friend just happens to upvote everything I upvote right? lol

It's nice to have friends around. Imaginary or not. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67720.63
ETH 3807.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68