How Many Words Should I Put In My Blog Posts

in #blogging6 years ago


dtube divider small.png

It's time, friend! I'm Ken @kenmelendez and welcome back to my channel. So honored that you decided to stop by and engage with this message either in video or blog format, whichever is more convenient for you.

In this post I would like to address the question relating to blog length which is this: How many words should I put in my blog posts? I'm going to give you a general answer, and then an answer that applies to my blog post length.

Ultimately, what matters more than length, is the value that you are sharing in that post. Whether your blog is 100 words or 2000 words, the message is what counts more so than the length. Try first and foremost to focus on what you can give and contribute to others to help enhance their lives.

As for me and my blogs, I normally like to keep mine around 500 words. I do this for a couple reasons. The first reason is because it doesn't take me that long to pump out a 500 word blog post. For Steem posts, I use an app called StackEdit which easily allows me to format the text with markdown.

Often times I will write my blogs early in the morning after I wake up and drink my cup of dark roast coffee. Many of those mornings my kids will be awake while I am trying to pump out a post which can be quite distracting.

The second reason I keep mine to about 500 words is so that readers can easily digest the information quickly without losing interest. The attention span of someone searching for information on the internet is fairly short. I want my readers (you) to consume the blog and find the answer(s) you are looking for without getting lost in a sea of vowels and consonants.

When I post from my phone I use the @partiko app which is my favorite app on my iPhone by far. Posting on the app allows me to publish a photo along with a series of text. On those posts I will normally publish a couple paragraphs worth of text because I'm simply captioning the photo.

Most days I like to publish a video to Steem. I always do my best to also couple that video with a blog post. I know my man @chrisrice and many of my other readers truly appreciate that aspect of my posts. My aim is that people enjoy their stay while they are visiting my page on Steemit or my channel on @dtube.

Some creators choose not to write out a blog to go with their videos which is fine. But for me, personally, I enjoy writing my videos in a blog because it allows my followers to engage with my content even if they can't or don't want to view the video.

Again, thank you friend for stopping by this post. I hope it added some value to your journey as blogger. Feel free to leave your thoughts, comments, or questions below as I read every single one of them. This has been @kenmelendez feel free to follow for continued inspiration and education. Cheers :)

kenmelendezdivider.png

kenmelendezgifresized.gif

-Ken

P.S. Meet me in person at the Steem Creators Conference and SMT Summit next month.


Recent Posts You May Enjoy

green.png Steem - An Endless Stream of Creativity
green.png Coffee and Crypto Show Reveal and Steem Monsters Giveaway
green.png Being Your True Self and Ignoring the Naysayers
green.png SteemAuto - An Easy Way to Automate Your Curation Efforts
green.png DTube Tutorials - Adjust Your Voting Weight with Just a Few Clicks
green.png Epidemic Sound - Enhance Your Video Content with Audio Tracks

Looking to take your Steem experience to the next level? Join other Steemians live for one of the biggest events of the year...Steem Creators Conference and SMT Summit taking place September 5-8, 2018. Grab your spot while you still can.

https://steemcreators.com


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It is not the matter of word count,but the matter of good quality of article

Hi @bluewinter. I agree and disagree at the same time. Yes, it always needs to be of quality, but I also do think that if a post is too short, it won’t convey the message in a complete way. But I hear where you’re coming from. How have you been enjoying your time on Steem?

Posted using Partiko iOS

lovely post @kenmelendez You been awesome pumping out some info to us. You are a superman. With your young cute kiddos and yet still finding time to write is a huge challenge. Well Done Ken

@elvielins I appreciate that from the bottom of my heart. I do this for them because I want them to have an incredible life of freedom and options. I’ll make whatever sacrifice it takes to accomplish that goal.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great video Ken! You know I use to stress out about the length of my cooking videos, then finally I decided to reduce the stress and let the videos be as long as they needed to be. So with blog posts, I just say, make them as long as they need to be, to capture what you are trying to convey. haha :)

Matt! Yes, I hear you for sure. Make them as long as they need to be. I know that if I made my blogs super long that it would just be fluff, or overkill if you will.

Posted using Partiko iOS

hahaha yeah I know what you mean. It is easy to add the fluff. haha

Thanks for the mention @kenmelendez.

I also like the length of your posts (500 words).

It only takes a couple of minutes to read but it always seems like your in such a good mood when I read your posts. It must be because you are enjoying your morning coffee!

Yes! I am in a good mood 99% of the time, Chris. Coffee is amazing that’s for sure. I’m excited to include it in my new show 👊🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey @kenmelendez.

It would be nice if you wrote about how long it takes you to write each blog post on average and also include how long it takes you on days that you film, edit and publish.

Based on some of the things you recently wrote it looks like you do it all in a breeze. You might be able to share some background if you are much faster at doing it now compared with before.

P.S. Your comment about writing in the morning with your kids running around is what made me think you do it all in a breeze.

I can make a new post about that for sure Chris. Great suggestion 👍🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @kenmelendez.

I am not sure if your other readers are also interested in health, but if you ever run out of ideas on any given day, you might be able to write about health and tie it in with self-improvement, motivation and inspiration (i.e. what you do to stay healthy).

It seems like you have a good lifestyle and based on my understanding, A LOT of people don't have that!

I like the fact that you take the time to write what you say in the video because as you know I do not speak English so I just have to translate and enjoy.

Awesome @anasuleidy 😊 I do my best to deliver text along with my videos. Glad you are enjoying that aspect of my content. Are you having a great weekend?

Posted using Partiko iOS

My weekend is being very good, and tomorrow will be better. Greetings to family!

Nice post @kenmelendez. I like your reasoning on the word length.

Appreciate that @nytrie glad you stopped by my page. How have you been enjoying your Steem journey so far?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Still learning.. I'm not a blogger before, so need a lot of time to learn in this platform.

Posted using Partiko Android

I would like to share to you our coming event in Sabah, Malaysia. Here is the link https://steemit.com/crowdfunding/@nytrie/-ydpow7cjl4

Thank you in advance for reading it 🤗

nice post, it has been helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84