INTERNET PRIVACY!

in #blogging6 years ago



 

 

Let's talk about Internet privacy, or rather the illusion, and lack of privacy! I"ve went through a few internet blogging accounts over the years, and just recently, one of my friends on a blogging site I use to frequent, tried a little experiment. He took user names, and put them in Google Images. He couldn't believe the results. What started out as an idea for a joke post, turned into an internet nightmare for many of the online friends we have blogged with on other sites.

Many of these people were blogging under anonymous names, and wished to stay anonymous, but there on Google Images, were pictures they had posted in many of their blog posts. How they ended up there, we didn't know, and many were shocked to see their pics show up.

Many, of these people were using blogging as a sort of self therapy, through writing, many were and are, taking frustrations of everyday life out, through their writing, and anonymity was very important to them. They now felt totally exposed, and feared people they knew and had often written about, may just google certain images, and the images they had used in their blog posts, would turn up, and eventually lead back to them.

I have posted many pictures on many accounts, and really didn't care because I've always suspected that anything we publish on the Internet, chances are good that someone I know from somewhere, someday, may just come across those pics. I expect no privacy when it comes to the Internet, there are just too many factors to take into account.

If you blog on a continuous basis, there is bound to be a page or two, of you,that will show up if you Google yourself. (Dayum, Googling yourself, almost sounds naughty, doesn't it?) . Try it, I have about 5 to 6 pages when I Google my name.

I have to tell you, if your photos turn up with a simple search, then you must realize that the trail doesn't end there. So take this as a friendly warning, if you are expecting Internet privacy, best thing is to stop posting blogs that are on the Internet!

Now I would think there is some way to protect yourself, but I really don't know what it is, so if anyone reading this, does know, leave a comment, because I have many friends, freaking out at the moment.


 

Internet privacy and security... I think it is just a dream!


 

As I was writing this, I realized that there have been times I have actually used pics from GOOGLE Images on some of my posts. I never gave it any thought as to where those pics had come from before. I now realize they came from ordinary people in some instances, and also some professionals, who I'm sure don't appreciate their pics being used without their consent, unless otherwise stated. Please be sure to only use pics that are authorised for use by anyone, although we don't think we are harming anybody by just using a pic found online, in many instances, it is considered plagiarism. Always use your own, or pics from sites that allow the use of their images, and if required, give credit to the photographer.

 

*All pics used in this post from Pexels and Unsplash.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://skiponlinenow.com/internet-privacy/

Sort:  

No matter how careful we are there is always a trail. I learned a long time ago there is no privacy. I didn't realize that google images were such a damn curse though. Now you have me searching too. Thanks for the heads up.

I was taken completely by surprise about this as well. When I put my old screen name in, there they are, all kinds of my pics... :(

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95