You’re not as clever as you think you are.

in #blogs6 years ago

I am not an expert, but I would think that blogging 101 would suggest that you really shouldn’t start off by insulting your would-be reader. It’s okay though, because you’re in denial, so you didn’t take that title seriously.
 

                                    

Source

You absolutely think that you are indeed as clever as you think you are. So do I. It’s totally circular. It’s appears that we are all the same here. Over-estimating our own abilities is an inherent part of the human condition. It’s called the Dunning-Kruger Effect

There are a few ways of interpreting this phenomenon; some kinder than others. There is talk of “incompetent” people not realising their apparent incompetence, but what it really seems to come down to is that we often think that we are better than we actually are. 

Of course, this isn’t a universal rule that affects everyone the same way. We are all unique, every one of us, and a host of factors mean that the extent of our denial or self-knowledge will vary wildly from person to person.


                                  

Me too!

The pursuit of self-knowledge is a lifelong one, but as there is no unimpeachable truth for any of us, it is nigh on impossible to really know how much we really know ourselves. But even the most self-actualised people are in denial about some things. It sort of makes sense in a self-preservation kind of way. It’s a jungle out there, and a little self-belief (even if it is misguided!) is an important part of being a person. 

I know I am rubbish at times. I have a horrendous sense of direction. Apparently, we are supposed to have a compass in our noses (who knew?), or alternatively, it’s down to the entorhinal cortex in the brain. Whatever it is, mine doesn’t work properly! 

The thing is though, I would have to be an inconceivably idiotic idiot not to know that I have no sense of direction. I get lost all the time. And if I get lost, on my own, I have this weird meltdown, and let me tell you it isn’t pretty. So I don’t think the Dunning Kruger effect could possibly apply here. 

It begs the question: where does it apply? What is it that I am rubbish at that I am in denial about? 

I hope it’s not writing blogs.     

                                      


                                          

Sort:  

I had no idea what this was all about. Since I didn't understand it, you are obviously a complete moronic moron! Try harder next time!

It's my bad. I used too many big words. Please accept my heartfelt apologies. I mean, sorry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75