People Are Treating Me Differently Because Of My Hair Colour

in #blonde7 years ago (edited)

I'd like to say dying my hair was a social experiment. It wasn't. I had bleached my hair so many times that it was starting to break right off. Yikes. Time to stop bleaching.

So, I went back to my roots - this is a bit brighter than my natural color.

IMG_4923.JPG

Since I analyze every moving, breathing and non-living thing around me...here is what I noticed!

When I had short blonde hair, I was highly approachable. People would come up to me often to chat. They assumed I was fun and friendly off the bat.

IMG_4877.JPG

After I put in extensions and dyed it red, fewer people talk to me but I am noticed by passerbys more often. They will stare an inappropriate amount of time, but not say hello...almost as if I'm an illusion, whereas when I was blonde, people were always waving and smiling.

I had had so many different hair colors before, I'd forgotten what this was like. I think there is a stereo type that redheads have a temper, while I actually have the lowest temper of anyone I've ever met. If I ever DO get angry, it's because someone has deeply disappointed me.

IMG_4954.JPG

I have to try extra hard to appear friendly now. I think it's so strange that Hair can change people's opinions of you so drastically.

What do you think? Ever changed your hair and the world around you changed as well?

Sort:  

I shaved my head once.
I really think it changed me more than anyone's impression of me, but as a guy, fewer people judge me by my hair.

Oh my gosh I can't imagine that!! You look good with longer hair.

Long hair is also way warmer in the winter:)

I was recently told that I looked more approachable when I had a beard than now when I have shaved.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71