Hartland Quay Blue Hour


Blue Hour At Hartland Quay


We just went down to Harltand Quay to watch the sunset which was OK but not brilliant. However, I took this blue hour photograph for @juliank's and @photocontests new blue hour photography contest.

The blue hour (from French l'heure bleue) is a period of twilight in the morning and in the evening, during the civil and nautical twilight phases, when the sun is at a significant depth below the horizon and when the residual, indirect sunlight takes on a predominantly blue shade.

  • Wikipedia

hartland quay blue hour.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

I think I might need a bit of practice at these sort of shots! 😁


Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-09T21:38:45
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2008.59/3200.00
Total Photos: 242
Total comments: 328
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Interesting. This is my favorite time of day. I will have to try some of these shots. This photo came out nicely especially in sky along horizon.

It's not a time of day I've thought about as a specific time before @steven-patrick, if you know what I mean.

It's something new for me that I will now be paying attention to. 😊

I think it came our rather well. If I'd taken the shot, I might have monkeyed with the levels to see if I could lighten it up or increase some contrast, but as it is, you can definitely tell the difference in colors of the ocean and the sky, and the rocks do stand out in the foreground with a nice neutral color.

Thank you @glenalbrethsen. If I knew how to I would also have liked to monkey around with levels but I only have Google photos editor to work with and not enough skill or time.

If I had photoshop and, knew how to use it, I would have made the blues more blue and more contrasting but then I look at most of my photographs and feel the same way.

I can see how to improve them but don't have the time or skill to do so. Oops. Maybe I shouldn't have said that here. It might bring the "not taking it seriously enough" brigade after me! 😁

The photographer folks take this seriously? No! :)

Well, see, I do have photoshop, and use it mostly to resize my photos. I'm not an expert at it, though. I'm sure someone else who knew more could do a much nicer job. On some phone cameras there's supposed to be some settings you can go into and change, but I've never had any. Or there's apps that can do that too, but again, I haven't tried those. So, the ones that do come out a little darker I can lighten, and I can try to create some contrast, but for the most part, I'm just taking photos outdoors with the ambient light and calling it good.

for the most part, I'm just taking photos outdoors with the ambient light and calling it good

Yep. That's me too. My phone doesn't have many settings although the night one does seem to make a difference, if I remember to use it, which I usually don't! 😁

Other than that I just crop, resize and us the occasional filter on Google photos.

This is a amazing looking place. What a spectacular view!! The coast where I lived has some amazing views but nothing lime this. I would love to go see something like that.

Devon and Cornwall both have beautiful coastlines @roverone. I love coming here to visit.

thanks for stopping by! 😊

I hope to someday visit your country, it has such beauty and history it would be amazing. We all have amazing places around the places we live, but it is my dream to see some place like in your photos. Thank you again for sharing!!

Definitely worth a visit @roverone. Probably more than one as there is so much to see. 😁

It looks like a cold Northern landscape. Good shot, @gillianpearce, I think You were able to capture the atmosphere of that evening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98