You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Games I Got For Christmas

in #boardgames5 years ago

I got two excellent board games: Hunt for the Ring which is very interesting and we play it in-family with my wife and kids. And the amazing Eldritch Horror for even more fun & excitement as we try to save humanity from all the eldritch horrors that surface.

Sort:  

From what I've read, I think my kids are not quite old enough for Hunt for the Ring; they are 7 and 10. How old are yours?

I've played Arkham Horror, but not Eldritch. I really liked Arkham. Do you have any idea how they compare?

Mine are 8 and 10. In Hunt, one player is Frodo and does the hidden movement, while the Nazgul players try to deduct his location. I always play Frodo myself and try to balance my actions accordingly, so that the kids have a chance; a rather simplified version, where I do not always take the optimal action, as I would in a normal game. But, I think that as the kids get more experienced with the game we will be able to play normally. We have also played Cluedo: Star Wars and a couple of other deduction games, but Hunt is more advanced and complex; and better :)

As for Arkham Horror, I have not played it but a friend of mine, that is also in the Eldritch group, did: he says that Arkham is more complex, but he likes Eldritch better. For me, Eldritch provides the perfect bridge between a toned down boardgame and a standard RPG like Call of Cthulhu; it is ideal for our group of adults that have limited time for sessions and no time for preparing an RPG as DM.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67241.02
ETH 3727.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77