You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BOINC Hardware Survey

in #boinc6 years ago (edited)

How hard would it be to use the hardware statistics to get upper and lower bounds on the total processing power of the network? We could then compare these figures to estimated GFLOPS from the projects themselves, as reported in the monthly 'State of the Network' posts. I have been skeptical of the reliability of the latter values for some projects.

Well, I suppose I could get the estimates myself, but maybe it'd be faster for you since you already are familiar with the scripts.

Sort:  

There are some bits that can make that a bit tricky.

  • Are the CPUs/GPUs under full load?
  • How efficient is the code being run?
  • How many CPUs are in a given server?

I can definitely come up with an upper bound. Finding an automatic way to lookup the FLOPS for the different components might take some time, but even if I have to to the top 30 or so by hand it is still possible.

It can be my next project.

There are some bits that can make that a bit tricky.

Sure. The upper and lower bounds probably wouldn't be very tight, but I think they still could be useful. And yeah, looking up FLOPS for each device would be a pain. On the other hand, perhaps you could work with averages rather than individual components (or, like you are saying, do the most common components by hand, and ballpark the rest.)

Hi @nexusprime and @h202:

I have been skeptical of the reliability of the latter values for some projects.

I have the same concerns.

Finding an automatic way to lookup the FLOPS for the different components might take some time

Fore Nvidia GPUs the numbers can be pulled from here, and for AMD GPUS here.

Regarding CPUs, it's a bit more of a pain, I've found info on ark.intel.com for individual products before, but I had to get a particularly hard-to-find pdf from there and I can't find right now, so I don't have a link.

I've been working on a similar proposal for a hardware profiling database built by GridCoin users, one of the purposes of which would be to provide a large amount of data that potential projects could use to optimize future decisions. I think we have overlapping goals and if you're interested in working together I'm on Discord and usually available during/after the Fireside chats.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71082.84
ETH 3864.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52