Lemon Tree: Bright Full Green Leaves [Bonsai]

in #bonsai5 years ago (edited)

20190820_115228.jpg

Another fine bonsai tree for a fine day. This is a lemon tree that was grown from seed. Check out this article to view more photos of my little potted tree.

20190820_115204.jpg

The goal on this tree is to promote more branch divisions and curved shapes.

The leaves on this tree are very large. On a small tree, the leaves appear overly large compared to the trunk and branches. With more branch divisions, the tree can re-balance its growth energy better and form smaller, even leaves on every branch.

20190820_115217.jpg

From this side view, the tree looks a bit like a candelabra. Remember Lumiere from Disney's Beauty and the Beast?

The brilliant emerald leaves on lemon trees are long-lasting and nearly Evergreen. So long as the temperature and moisture levels remain tropical, this tree will maintain the same glossy full-green leaves all year long.

Some traces of a visible nebari starting to form at the base is also in view here. The trunk also shows a slight sway in movement. Perhaps one day I may reconsider this as the new front.

The jeweled stone is usually my marker for where I think the front view should be. I tend to place the stone in a good spot beside the tree, and slightly closer to the edge of the pot that I think is the best view angle. In this case, that would be the landscape view I used in the cover photo.

20190820_115134.jpg

I'll need to let the new shoots continue to crowd each other for a while to fill the void spaces between the leaves. Eventually I want to have a lush circular canopy in an umbrella shape.

Historical Information

ID: 0002
Nickname: Lita
Type: Citron limon
Age: 4 years
Grown: from seed (common supermarket variety produce)
Last repotting: early summer 2017
Wired: early summer 2017

Past articles featuring this tree by @creativetruth:

20190820_123133.jpg

Be sure to follow my work this week. I'm in the process of sharing the whole host of bonsai trees in my collection. There is over thirty trees I am growing. That means you can enjoy more than a month of fresh content from @creativetruth's back porch.

Share the goodness with me.

20190820_123112.jpg


Photos in this post are all #originalworks by @creativetruth, unless stated otherwise.

Find me on discord and chat with other tree growers, bonsai enthusiasts, and gardeners. We have quite a few accredited experts filling out our ranks, and a helpful Spanish-speaking community.

#teambonsai

No memberships. Love trees. Make friends. Grow together.


#lemon #lemon-tree #citrus-tree #citrus #green #bonsai-tree

Sort:  

Looks like you've got a pretty nice collection growing. Fun hobby, I saw a ton of cool bonsai out in Kyoto botanical gardens a couple years ago.

Sadly I lost a ton of pictures from that day because I took them on my phone and it EXPLODED the day I left... > . >

Too bad!

Kyoto is one of the main reason I want to visit Japan some day. I believe they are known worldwide for their unique gardens. I got a book that teaches me some of the Niwaki training techniques from the perspective of an English arborist, and Kyoto is always being used as a reference to view good examples of properly pruned trees.

Oh man, I spent the entire day at the botanical gardens there. It was only 200yen to get in and the place is freakin huge.

Wonderful city in general, though it can be a bit of a tourist trap -- most of the "must see" destinations there like gold temple and such were a bit of a let down to me.

Had a ton of fun just hopping around town there though, lots to experience/see. Japan in general has done a great job maintaining places with nature/greenery even in the middle of their busiest cities. 👺 💖

It has a very good development for its 4 years considering that you have created it from the beginning. Congratulations!
I vote and share this very good article!

Hello @creativetruth, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01