You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #BonsaiNews: We all need a little inspiration from time to time plus a mini heart attack

in #bonsai6 years ago

This is a great post, because it gets people talking and learning about how to grow a tree from scratch.

What type of tree are you attempting to root? Are you doing the air layering technique, or removing a cutting to root?

Trees that can be rooted from cuttings will often make roots easily if you put them in a vase with water, and keep them out of sunlight. Not a tree, but with ginger rhizomes, I often just rinse them ever week in clean water, and keep them in a plastic bag until they form buds. I believe darkness, clean water, humidity, and oxygen are all essential for healthy new roots. Rot and disease are main killers.

Honey is another odd one I have heard of. It's sticky and antibacterial, so that helps protect the cut end from disease and drying out.

Another favorite natural rooting hormone is willow. You can use willow cuttings purchased from a florist or look for an old willow tree to pluck a few stems off. Cut the stems up and let them sit in water for a day or two. I believe the theory is that because willow trees create tons of long feeder roots when sitting in water, it must have a chemical that can help other trees to have the same rooting ability to the water. Don't use dead stems, obviously. Green healthy ones.

I grow willow bonsai, and the pruned willow stems I usually save and add them to the water I use on my trees. Maybe it gives the roots a natural boost.

Sort:  

Too bad we don't have enough people talking but yes, the struggle of idle hands.

Truth be told, I have no idea what kind of tree it is that I want to take a cutting from. It is a rather large branch right in the lower fork of the tree. The girth of the branch is about 30cm and belongs to a tree I've never seen before - waiting for a tree identification group to get back to me which is amazing, they also seem to have no idea.

I assume it is a type of fig and it should easily be around 500 to 600 years old, the tree is huge. I'll be using a hardwood hormone powder to get it going - should be removing the branch from the tree this coming weekend.

I'll be sticking to a general soil mixture that is very light.

I wish I could get my hands on a willow tree here, they are considered an invasive so that pretty much ruins my day - I'd grow them from a cutting or from scratch but I have no idea where any are in my area. I think they are all over swamp areas and also riddled throughout parts of the Western Cape.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69455.40
ETH 3692.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.34